Reviews

Book Trade In and Used Book Haul

I was looking at my book collection the other day, and I realized that I have a fair few books that I either have no intention of reading or will never read again, for one reason or another. They’ve been crowding shelves or sitting in boxes for ages, and it seems time to clear them out. Our place is pretty small, so I try to limit my possessions to things I will actually use.

I also recently discovered that a used bookstore near my house will buy books for cash. And even better, if you choose to take a store credit, you get double what they would give you in cash. So I decided to take in these books, and see if I can pick up some new books that I will actually read, and I’m documenting the whole thing here!

Here are the books I am trading in:

20160325_203653

Eragon & Eldest by Christopher Paolini – I was really into these books when I was 15, but not so much in my 20s. My mom sent these out when I had asked for some of my books from home, but I won’t read them again.
Mercy by Jodi Picoult
– I love Jodi Picoult, just not this book. 
The Outsorcerer’s Apprentice by Tom Holt
– I really wanted to like this book, but after three attempts to read it, I just couldn’t do it. The characters got on my nerves, and not in a good way.
Shadow by Robin McKinley
– Just wasn’t as good as I hoped it would be.
Cold Magic by Kate Elliot
– I actually read half of this book, before I set it down and never looked at it again. I haven’t had any interest in picking it up since, so I’m not going to hang on to it.
Le Morte D’Arthur by Sir Thomas Malory
  – This book actually isn’t mine. It belonged to my other half, but neither of us wanted to read it more than once, so it was added to the pile.

Hopefully I will be able to get a few books worth of credit for these. I’m writing this post in two chunks, the trade-ins and the new books, so keep reading to find out what I was able to find on my adventure!


Alright, so the adventure is finished and here are the results.

The used bookstore was able to take five of the seven books. The other two, the gentleman said, wouldn’t sell, so I dropped them off at a charity that takes books and sells them to support programs for adults with disabilities. For the five they took, I ended up with $10 credit to put towards more books. Not a lot, but any money that can go into more books is good to me.

I ended up coming away with four new books to add to my collection:

20160326_113152

Night Film by Marisha Pessl – I borrowed it from a friend a while back, and I absolutely love it. It’s just so expensive to buy new, so I was so happy to find a second hand copy.
City of Bones by Cassandra Claire – This book is on the list of books everyone has read but me, it seems. So I was really excited to find a copy – with the most recent covers at that.
The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly – I hadn’t heard of this book before, but came across it on the shelves, and it looked so good that I had to get it.
I Know This Much Is True by Wally Lamb – I’ve been meaning to try a Wally Lamb book forever, but never got around to it. There were some mass market paperbacks that were relatively inexpensive, so I picked one up, and we’ll see how it is.

Obviously, I spent a bit more than the $10 credit I got for the old books, but being second hand, most of the books were relatively inexpensive – no more than $10 each. Money well spent, I think. I’m really pleased with the new books, and I can’t wait to read them.

3 thoughts on “Book Trade In and Used Book Haul

  1. I really should do this too! I’ve got so many books that I’ll never read again (plus random impulse buys I’m unlikely to ever read) and very little space to store them all. I hope you enjoy City of Bones (I love The Mortal Instruments series so much!) and I’m so excited you mentioned Night Film because it’s one of my favourite books of all time. I only have the Kindle edition at the moment, so I think I’ll start scouring the local charity shops for a copy too (I agree it’s very expensive!)

    Like

Leave a comment