Book Related

The Lovely Products at Literary Book Gifts + Promo Code

There are so many great bookish product shops out there, and so many awesome designs that relate to books. I wish I could buy a lot more than I do, but shipping to Canada tends to be very painful. But that’s another discussion for another day. So when I was asked to feature Literary Book… Continue reading The Lovely Products at Literary Book Gifts + Promo Code

Everything Else

How Do People Manage To Do It All?

Life Chats is a weekly thing that happens around here where I talk about things related to music therapy, small business ownership, book blogging, and life as a perpetually confused 20-something. I’ve been asking myself this question so often of late. Part of it’s related to the fact that I took on way too many… Continue reading How Do People Manage To Do It All?

Reviews

Book Review: Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness by Susannah Cahalan

An award-winning memoir and instant New York Timesbestseller that goes far beyond its riveting medical mystery, Brain on Fire is the powerful account of one woman’s struggle to recapture her identity. When twenty-four-year-old Susannah Cahalan woke up alone in a hospital room, strapped to her bed and unable to move or speak, she had no memory of how… Continue reading Book Review: Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness by Susannah Cahalan

Book Related

11 Possible Reasons Why I DNF-ed That Book

If you’ve hung around here enough, you’ll probably have noticed that I don’t finish a lot of books. And I honestly don’t feel the least bit bad about it, even when it’s a book I’ve taken on for review. The reality is that there are so many hours in the day, and I only get… Continue reading 11 Possible Reasons Why I DNF-ed That Book

Book Related

Two Years of Songs Wrote My Story Celebration! Best Books and Giveaway!

So two years ago, I had taken a long weekend off of work. I’d planned it around when I’d lose the least work, so of course, everyone else was busy at work. I’d been reading a bunch of blogs and book reviews, and out of boredom and lack of anything better to do, I decided… Continue reading Two Years of Songs Wrote My Story Celebration! Best Books and Giveaway!

Everything Else

How I Do The Self-Care Thing

Life Chats is a weekly(ish) thing that happens around here where I talk about being a music therapist, small business owner, book blogger, and perpetually confused twenty-something. I’ve been debating doing a post about this for a while. Self-care is a huge discussion in music therapy and other counselling therapies, because if we’re not taking… Continue reading How I Do The Self-Care Thing

Book Related

Book Spotlight: The Sleeping Serpent by Luna Saint Claire

 A darker and more deeply etched Big Little Lies   Fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Liane Moriarty will devour this deliciously dark psychological drama. Whether by free will or fate, Luna’s encounter with Nico provokes a storm that shatters her perceptions of identity, duty, morality, and self-worth. The storm didn’t blow in from the outside.… Continue reading Book Spotlight: The Sleeping Serpent by Luna Saint Claire

Reviews

Book Review: Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell

Ten years after her teenage daughter disappears, a woman crosses paths with a charming single father whose young child feels eerily familiar, in this evocative, suspenseful drama from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell—perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Liane Moriarty. Ellie Mack was the perfect daughter. She was fifteen, the youngest of three. She… Continue reading Book Review: Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell

Reviews

Book Review: If You Knew Her by Emily Elgar

The perfect life? Or the perfect lie . . . When Cassie Jensen arrives on the intensive care ward in St Catherine’s hospital, Alice Marlowe the chief nurse, is fascinated by this young, beautiful woman who strikes her as familiar and yet she doesn’t know why. But then Alice is astonished to discover something about… Continue reading Book Review: If You Knew Her by Emily Elgar