Book Related

Some Books That Left Me Disappointed, and Some That Exceeded My Expectations

So Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted on The Broke and the Bookish.

But they’re on break, so I’ve been making up my own topics for a while now.

 

This week I’m opting for two shorter lists. One of books that left me disappointed, or otherwise didn’t live up to my expectations. And one of books that by far were better than I had hoped. Because it seems like that’s been this year in books for me, nothing quite in the middle.

Books That Left Me Disappointed

24763621

With all the super positive reviews I’d seen for this book, I was really looking forward this one. But it was kind of slow, and I had some issues with things that happened, and I wasn’t as sold as I had hoped.

IMG_0001

In theory, I really want to like this book, because it sounds really good. In reality, it’s dull and boring, and I just can’t get through it.

24529123

I really liked the idea of this book, but I just couldn’t get into this book as much as I wanted to. It was just hard to connect to, and I had a hard time caring about the characters.

15749186

This is another one where I read a lot of really positive reviews, but found it kind of boring. Maybe that’s just me with my thing about contemporaries.

17675462

After reading so many positive reviews and people raving about it, I was stoked to read this book. But I barely made it 100 pages in before I gave up. I just couldn’t do it.

Books That Exceeded My Expectations

257339901

This book is so good! It’s a bit weird and tricky to get into, but once you get going, it’s fantastic! I’m so excited to read the next one!

30653853

I’m not big on contemporary, but this one was super fun! It’s got some great stuff going for it, and it was well written. I’m definitely planning to check out Albertalli’s other book in the near future.

30201136

This was another contemporary that turned out to be so much better than I had expected. It’s such a fantastic book, and I love having books about fangirling.

31394084

This book was so much more hard-hitting and fantastic than I had expected going in. It’s a wonderful story that everyone should check out.

16429619

For a series that includes a love triangle, this turned out to be so much better than I had expected. This is an amazing series and I’m so excited to finally have the final book on my shelf.

20 thoughts on “Some Books That Left Me Disappointed, and Some That Exceeded My Expectations

  1. I had no idea they went on a break! Been away from the blogging hemisphere for wayyy too long I guess!
    Anyway, totally agree with To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, The Raven Boys and This Is Where It Ends – for the last two, I couldn’t even get through them in the end 😥
    I haven’t tried any of the books that have exceeded your expectations – but I will have to sometime!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my god! I am so happy to see someone else who shares my opinions on The Magicians! I loved the concept, but I have this thing about couples that spend entire chapters contemplating their sex lives. I just, do not need 50 pages of that!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read To All The Boy’s I’ve Loved Before mainly because it’s fluff and I am not a fan! Still on my TBR though. I’m sad you didn’t enjoy The Raven Boys, I’m looking forward to reading it. I’ve heard some great things about This is where it ends and Wintersong?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I really enjoyed reading this post! I was disappointed by The Raven Boys as well! I have heard the series gets better so maybe I’ll continue with it!

    I was totally surprised by Sleeping Giants as well! I picked it up on a whim and I was never really in to SciFi but wow that book is awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

