Book Related

July Wrap Up & August Plans

July has been such a busy, strange month on my end, and it feels like it has gone on for a very long time. Maybe that’s just because it has been so hectic.

On one hand, I’ve been a mess of insomnia this past month, which is super fun. If I were awake enough to use the time well, it would be one thing, because I could just motor through a bunch of reading or something. But working on that.

On the other hand, we got a dog. She’s a little beagle cross and super sweet towards anything that isn’t a dog or a rabbit. But we’re unfortunately not going to be able to keep her, so that’s been super rough, because I adore her.

But anyway. Let’s get to the books!

Books I Reviewed:

 

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen 3/5
This book was good, but a little dry and slow. I do want to continue with this series, though, because I’m really curious to see where Kelsey is going to go next.

The Lying Game by Ruth Ware 3/5
This book was not at all what I expected, but in a good way. While the ending wasn’t super surprising, it was also not exactly what I expected, which was fun. Definitely one worth reading if you’re into thrillers.

Black and Green by C.L. Stone 5/5
Guys, this series is so good and so addictive. I can’t wait until we get another book, even though it’s probably a million years from now.

Pointe by Brandy Colbert 4/5
This book was another one that didn’t turn out at all like I expected, but I ended up enjoying a lot. It’s an easy read, but tackles a lot of serious issues, and I was super pleased with how it turned out.

Death Unmasked by Rick Sulik 2/5
This is one of the more fascinating uses of reincarnation I’ve come across, but the writing was very over the top and the story was confusing at times.

Books I Read and Will Be Reviewing Soon:

 

This was quite the mix of books, obviously. Some were great, some were a bit disappointing, some were not at all what I was expecting. But all of these are coming in August, so keep an eye out for them!

Books I Acquired in July:

 

All but Mad Black Wheel were copies I received for review, so many thanks to the people who sent me those! I got a couple more as well, but because the covers aren’t released yet, I’ve not included them here.

August Plans:

 

All but The Last Olympian are review copies, and hopefully for the last two, my ereader starts behaving and allows me to actually read them, since they were supposed to happen this month.

What are your reading plans for August? Let me know in the comments below!

6 thoughts on “July Wrap Up & August Plans

  1. July for me was spent with volunteering a few Fridays at Loaves and Fishes. End to he month, I left for vacation to Florida. One time in July, I went on a day trip to an artsy city named Asheville, which is about two hours away from my hometown.

    August: I have a wedding to look forward to and going back to school, but my last year of college

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

