Reviews

Review: Pointe by Brandy Colbert

Theo is better now.

She’s eating again, dating guys who are almost appropriate, and well on her way to becoming an elite ballet dancer. But when her oldest friend, Donovan, returns home after spending four long years with his kidnapper, Theo starts reliving memories about his abduction—and his abductor.

Donovan isn’t talking about what happened, and even though Theo knows she didn’t do anything wrong, telling the truth would put everything she’s been living for at risk. But keeping quiet might be worse.

13360957

Song For This Book: Dancing by Elisa
Why? Because it just fits too well.

4/5

I picked this book up because I was trying to drag myself out of a reading slump and wanted something enjoyable. It was one of those books I’d gotten as an e-copy at a discount or for free or something like that, and had just forgotten on my Kobo for a while. Seeing the title and the cover, I assumed it was a book about dance, which sounded really nice, so I dove into it without really reading the synopsis.

What I ended up with was a book that was about quite a bit more than dance. It includes an abduction case, rape, drug use, eating disorders, cheating and honesty, and a bunch of other hard topics, but ones that are true for teens these days. And while it is a lot to pack into a relatively short book, the author pulls it together really well, and has come up with a hard hitting, serious book, but one that I think is important.

The Good Points of Pointe:

Yay for diverse characters!

I absolutely loved Theo’s character. She’s such a disaster, with so many unresolved issues and shattered self-esteem, but she’s also strong and a genuinely good person. She makes mistakes, but she has her good moments, and I think, despite the fact that she goes through things that you hope teens never have to go through, she’s a relatable main character for those who struggle with similar. There are a lot of great characters in this book, but Theo’s definitely a stand out.

I loved how the author handled all the issues in the book. There is a lot of serious stuff here, and the author doesn’t gloss over how hard and gritty they can be, but somehow also leaves the book easy to read. It’s the perfect balance of the heavy topics.

I love how realistic the teenagers in this book seemed. They drank, they smoked pot, they lied to their parents, they hung out and gossiped. It sounded so much like my own teen years, and that I hear of from teens I know today, which is what we need in YA literature. They may not be the best role models, but they’re relatable.

The Downsides of Pointe:

I almost feel that this book was a little too ambitious in the issues it took on. They were all done very well, but I would have liked to see more of the effect of each, and there just wasn’t enough time. Totally my own preference though.

This book focused very heavily on the abduction case, but not a lot happens with that. You have to wait a really long time to get anything new about it. Maybe related to my point above, but I wanted more from Donovan’s story.

A lot of this book was in Theo’s head, and I wanted a little more action and events. Again, preference.

All in all, I enjoyed how hard and honest this book was, along with the fact that it was a fairly easy read. I loved Theo and how messed up she was, and how she turns things throughout the book. If you love dance, real issues, and well developed characters, you should definitely give Pointe a go!

Find Pointe on Book Depository

Want to chat more about this? Connect with me on: Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram

2 thoughts on “Review: Pointe by Brandy Colbert

Leave a Reply

