Book Related

June Wrap Up and July Plans

June has been the weirdest month. It feels like it has been going on forever, while also feeling like it flew by. However that is supposed to work. Summer is a complete change for me work-wise, with new programs starting, breaks from other programs, and a weird schedule. I’ve also got reports due, and a course starting, and some other chaos and madness going on. So it’s been a weird month.

I hit 500 followers this month, which is super exciting! So thank you so much for that, folks!

Books I’ve Reviewed

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon 2.5/5
This book was fine, but super predictable and a bit disappointing. But it was an easy read, and you gotta love when a character loves books as much as you do!

Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie 5/5
Agatha Christie is amazing and this book is not exception. I had no idea what the ending was going to be until it happened, and I’m usually pretty good at figuring out these sorts of things.

The Brothers Three by Layton Green 4/5
I wasn’t really sure how this was going to go, but it turned out to be a rather fantastic. I loved the relationships between the brothers, and the way the worlds worked together. Can’t wait to read more of this.

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen 4/5
I’m always excited for more Sarah Dessen books to come out, and I really enjoyed this one. It’s not my favourite, and it’s a bit fluffier than my preference from her, but it was a great summer read anyway.

Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner 4.5/5
I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I did his other book, but it was still really good. It was a great portrait of how different people react to grief. This book also made me super angry, and since books tend to not get that much of a reaction from me, we’ll take it as something.

Calvin by Martine Leavitt 0/5
I really wanted to enjoy this book, but I just couldn’t get into it. It was mostly in dialogue, and I was kind of hoping the characters would fall through the ice. I ended up DNFing this book about halfway through.

Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult 3/5
This wasn’t my favourite book of hers, but it was still good.  It felt much like every other book she’s written, which was kind of disappointing, but regardless of how it may present to various people, I like that she didn’t shy away from the topic of racism. I just wished there was more to the book.

Books I Read in June and Will Review Soon

I got stuck in a bit of a reading rut this month, after a few books that just didn’t work for me, so I didn’t read as much as I usually would. But keep an eye out for these reviews in the near future!

Books I Acquired

I did well this month at not buying a bunch of books! I received Girl in Snow and Strange Fire from Simon & Schuster Canada in exchange for review, and purchased the other two myself.

I also got a Ravenclaw edition of the first Harry Potter, but was too lazy to go find a picture for that, and one didn’t pop up easily on Goodreads.

Plans for July

The Phoenix Cycle, Girl in Snow, and Tompkin’s School #2 (cover isn’t released yet for this, hence the lack of photo) are all review copies due in August, so I’ll definitely be getting to those. In addition, I’m hoping to read Sleeping Giants and Wintersong as well.

What are your reading plans for July? Let me know in the comments below!

24 thoughts on “June Wrap Up and July Plans

  1. First of all, congratulations on 500 followers!! 😀
    Second, you seem to have had an incredible month! I hope you enjoyed The Queen of the Tearling, by the way ^^ I still need to read the last book in the trilogy but I’m hoping to do so soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You know, I haven’t really come up with a July reading plan quite yet but I did join Online Book Club’s review team so I’ll be reading and reviewing all month long. My hope is to read a new book every two weeks. I’m aiming to finish my current one tonight and then go forward with “City of Redemption” by June Ahern. Since my review blog is new I hope to just keep posting reviews of the books I read and maybe find some fellow bloggers who write short stories or poetry to feature.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wowww, congratulations on 500 followers! That’s so cool 😍

    And it looks like you’ve had a pretty good reading month! I wasn’t the biggest fan of Everything Everything either for pretty much the same reasons as you!

    Your July TBR looks lovely, I hope you enjoy all of those books! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I definitely want to read The Beautiful Ones, The Walking Land and Sip. Those are some of my ARC pile that I need to read and even though I have exams , I like to take the time to actually read some books in between. It helps me relax a lot. 😀 I heard much about Wintersong but somehow I just can’t wrap my head around ‘hot’ Orks or goblins, so I haven’t read it yet. Maybe I can get rid of my prejudice and read it some day haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Reading books is the best way to take breaks from exam revision 😀 Yeah, that’s a bit of a weird thing for Wintersong, and I’m not sure how I feel about it either. I’m kind of leaning on my love of Labrynth, and hoping that gets me far enough into it to get past the hot creatures 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha Let’s hope you make it 😀 It is iind of weird and yes, I get most of my reading done during exam times haha 😂 Unfortunately, I usually don’t have the time to also write about the books, but that is what the break isnfor 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Right now for reading: in the middle of “Same Kind of Different as Me” and after that will read “An Author’s Odyssey”, which is the fourth book in the Land of Stories Series. I am aiming for 500 followers by the end of the year and currently near 290

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The Land of Stories is a wonderful read for those who love fairy tales. They are a wonderful read when there isn’t much time for reading. During the school years, they are easy to read because as a college student, it is hard to read any challenging novel

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

