Book Related

Thrilling Adventures, Epic Names, and T-Swift – An Interview with Iain Reading

I’ve got something super exciting for you folks today! Author interviews are always so much fun, and this book sounds so good. It’s about curses and gold and exploring, what more can you really need? Plus, just look at this chick climbing a mountain to get to her airplane (may or may not be accurate to plot, for the record), how can you not be curious after that?

KittyHawkNewCover

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is the thrilling first installment in a new young adult series of adventure mystery stories by Iain Reading. This first book of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series introduces Kitty Hawk, an intrepid teenage pilot with her own De Havilland Beaver seaplane and a nose for mystery and intrigue. A cross between Amelia Earhart, Nancy Drew and Pippi Longstocking, Kitty is a quirky young heroine with boundless curiosity and a knack for getting herself into all kinds of precarious situations. 

After leaving her home in the western Canadian fishing village of Tofino to spend the summer in Alaska studying humpback whales, Kitty finds herself caught up in an unforgettable adventure involving stolen gold, devious criminals, ghostly shipwrecks, and bone-chilling curses. Kitty’s adventure begins with the lingering mystery of a sunken ship called the Clara Nevada. As the plot continues to unfold, this spirited story will have readers anxiously following every twist and turn as they are swept along through the history of the Klondike Gold Rush to a suspenseful final climatic chase across the rugged terrain of Canada’s Yukon.

Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is a perfect book to fire the imagination of readers of all ages. Filled with fascinating and highly Google-able locations and history this book will inspire anyone to learn and experience more for themselves. 

There are currently five books in the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series: Kitty Hawk and the Curse of the Yukon Gold (book 1), Kitty Hawk and the Hunt for Hemingway’s Ghost (book 2), Kitty Hawk and the Icelandic Intrigue (book 3), and Kitty Hawk and the Tragedy of the RMS Titanic (book 4), and Kitty Hawk and the Mystery of the Masterpieces (book 5). Each book can be read as a standalone.

About the Author:

Iain Reading

Iain Reading is passionate about Root Beer, music, and writing. He is Canadian, but currently resides in the Netherlands working for the United Nations.

Iain is the author of the Kitty Hawk Flying Detective Agency Series, The Wizards of Waterfire Series, and the dragon of the month club. To learn more, go to http://www.amazon.com/Iain-Reading/e/B00B0NGI6Q/

Readers can connect with Iain on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.

Let’s start with a get-to-know-you question: What are three random things about you?

I love perogies.  I am still disappointed by the end of the TV show Lost.  And I have always wanted to be a musician.

Aren’t we all still disappointed in that Lost ending? We could have a whole discussion on that alone. But let’s get back to this interview before I get sidetracked. Because music is a huge part of this blog, I have to ask: What are you favourite singers/bands? 

Well, right now my top three are definitely Roger Waters, Taylor Swift and The Script. But because music is a huge part of your blog may I also mention that I write and record my own music? I always wanted to be a musician but I never quite made it.  If anyone is interested they can download some songs for free from here (I recommend the Some Things Are Perfect album, particularly The Colour Of You, Scream, or Invisible).

(Post-Interview Comment: Hilary recommends The Colour of You and Just Breathe off the same album, as she’s listened to both on repeat. But you should go listen to the whole thing, really.)

Are there any authors you particularly admire or who inspire you to write?

I have always really liked Carl Sagan and Paul Theroux. Now whether I could ever write like them, I don’t think so.  I can only write as I am able to write, I guess.

When did you start writing?

I started writing a few years ago when I spent a couple of months lying in bed with this idea Kitty Hawk nagging at me to write it into life.

So Kitty Hawk & the Curse of the Yukon Gold, what can you tell us about it?

Kitty Haw and the Curse of the Yukon Gold is the thrilling first instalment…. just kidding. That’s what is says on Amazon.  The book is the first book in a series about an amazing teenaged female pilot with her own plane. And since she has her own plane she can fly anywhere she wants. So she decides to fly around the world. And you can just guess where THAT takes her. Well, it takes her around the world, of course.  But all along the way she gets herself in and out of trouble and solves all sorts of mysteries, like Amelia Earhart meets Nancy Drew.

What make you want to write this book specifically?

It was actually Kitty Hawk (the character) herself that inspired me. I liked the idea so much that I simply had to bring it to life.

What about the character of Kitty Hawk, was there anything in particular that inspired her or was it just an idea that popped into your head?

The name itself was inspirational. Kitty Hawk North Carolina is where the Wright brothers flew the first airplane. So with a name like that, Kitty Hawk just had to be a pilot. And once you have a teenaged pilot with a great name, the rest of the story just falls into place.

As a Canadian myself, I’m always excited to come across books set in Canada. Why did you choose that as your location, though?

Kitty Hawk travels to many places throughout the series, but of course she starts off in Canada.  Tofino, British Columbia, is her home town (and one of my favourite places in the world – plus I grew up nearby in Victoria). From there she heads off to Alaska and the Yukon (also some of my favourite places in the world). I guess I chose these locations because I love them. And because some of them are home.

What do you hope readers get out of your books?

I hope that readers are not only entertained (of course) but that they also feel like they’ve visited a new and exciting place and learned a bit about it.  I love travelling – so does Kitty Hawk – so I want to have that feeling of discovering new places in every book.

Was there any music in particular that you listened to when you were writing this book?

This was the first book I ever wrote so I hadn’t quite figured out my writing and music scheme yet, so I am not sure I listened to anything.  BUT, for later books I can tell you that I often use music like a mantra in the background, the same song(s) over and over and over.  I’ve written books to Coldplay, Taylor Swift and The Script.

Where can interested readers find out more about this series?

My Amazon author page is always a great place to start:

Amazon Page

Thanks for chatting with me, and putting up with all my questions! Any final thoughts you want to share?

Only to say thank you so much for having me here to talk with you today and thank you for these amazing questions.

2 thoughts on “Thrilling Adventures, Epic Names, and T-Swift – An Interview with Iain Reading

Leave a Reply

