Book Related

May Wrap Up and June Plans

I honestly can’t believe how quickly May flew by. I know I was sick and crazy busy for a good chunk of it, which always makes it seem like it goes by faster, but even so. It seems like we should at least have another week to go.

But anyway.

In real life, my programs are starting to wrap up for the year, if they run on school year schedules. So my schedule is beginning to free up a little, though I do have a couple of new projects in the works for the summer. It will be nice to go down to part time work and get a bit of a break for the summer months, though. More time to read and blog!

I’ve also finished up with the concert band I play with until September, and have been desperately trying to get back into writing again, since my busy schedule has kept me away from it. I’ve been debating doing a weekly writing thing on here through the summer, but I’ve got quite a few projects for the summer, so we’ll see how it goes.

Let’s get to this wrap up, shall we?

Books I Reviewed

The Grumpface by B.C.R. Fegan 4/5
This book is so much fun! It was a review request by TaleBlade Press, and I’m so sure that kids are going to fall in love with this story. I definitely have.

Road to Yesterday by Greta Cribbs 3/5
This book is one of the best time travel ideas I’ve seen, and I love how it’s constantly compared to other famous time travel stories. I wasn’t a huge fan of how much conversation filled this book, too much telling rather than showing, but it’s a fun story.

Frost Like Night by Sara Raasch 4.5/5
I am so sad that this series is done. I’ve had so much fun reading these books. I had some minor issues with this book, wasn’t my favourite ending, but overall, I thought it was a great end to the series, and can’t wait to reread the whole thing.

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy 3/5
I enjoyed this book, but I had a really hard time connecting or caring about any of the characters. I genuinely didn’t care if their lives went well or not. The story itself was fine, but nothing amazing.

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli 4/5
This was a fun book. The characters were great, there was some good diversity, it gave me all those fun summer time feels. It’s not going to be the most memorable book for me, because nothing was that new, but a fun book nonetheless.

Fireworks by Katie Cotugno 4/5
This was a fun book, as someone who grew up listening to boy and girl bands. I was a little disappointed that there wasn’t a single mention of the Backstreet Boys or Spice Girls, but I enjoyed it.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber 4/5
This book was not at all what I was expecting when it picked it up. It doesn’t quite live up to the claims that it’s the next Night Circus, but it’s a fun book with a great adventure and a whole lot of deception.

The Quantum Ghost by Jonathan Ballagh 5/5
I loved this book so much. It’s much simpler than Ballagh’s previous book, but it’s got great characters, a well developed world, and so much adventure.

Books I Acquired in May

From Publisher/Author for Review:

A Passport to a Nation of Talking Slugs by Andrew Kozma
The Lying Game by Ruth Ware
The Phoenix Cycle by Bob Collopy

As Gifts:

The Quantum Ghost by Jonathan Ballagh from the author (thank you!!)

Books I Purchased Myself: 

Between the Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys
Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
City of Saints and Madmen by Jeff Vandermeer
Unwind by Neal Shusterman
Schtum by Jem Lester

Books I Read, and Have Scheduled Reviews For:

Plans for June:

I am currently reading Small Great Things, and as it’s a longer book, I’ll probably need a couple days into June to get through it. I also just got a copy of The Lying Game and I’m excited to read it. Black and Green is released next month, and I can’t wait, because it has taken so long for this book to come out. And I’m mildly addicted to this series.

Otherwise, I have a few review copies I want to get to this month, and from there, I’ll probably just mood read. Having finished Murder on the Orient Express recently, I’m curious to check out a few more, especially since my partner owns all of Christie’s books. But we’ll see.

What are you planning to read in June?

7 thoughts on “May Wrap Up and June Plans

  1. Right now I am in the middle of reading a book, which is called “The Hundred Story Home”. I started summer break after my last final on May 11th. Since the 13th, I managed to finish two books and begin my third (the one I am reading now)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

