Book Related

WWW Wednesday [24/05/17]

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted on Taking On A World Of Words (previously hosted on A Daily Rhythm) that asks you three very important questions:
What are you currently reading?
What did you finish reading recently?
What do you think you’ll read next?

It’s so nice to be over that dang cold, though the cough is rather persistent. And now that some of my programs are starting to finish up for the school year, I’m slowly getting caught up on all my blog related stuff. It’s a work in progress.

Let’s get down to the matter at hand though, shall we?

What Are You Currently Reading?

853510

Just after midnight, a snowdrift stopped the Orient Express in its tracks. The luxurious train was surprisingly full for the time of the year. But by the morning there was one passenger fewer. A passenger lay dead in his compartment, stabbed a dozen times, his door locked from the inside.

My partner loves Agatha Christie, and he talked me into reading this one over the weekend. I’ve only got about 70 pages left, and it’s great so far. Very to the point and no extra fluff to pad the story. I still don’t know who commited the murder though.

What Did You Finish Reading Recently?

34605438

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to be plunged into a dangerous fantasy world?

The Blackwood brothers from New Orleans are about to find out. Youngest brother Will dreams of escaping his mundane life as an apprentice contractor. Caleb is a bartender whose charm and good looks see him through life. Val, the eldest, is a high-powered attorney who hides the fact that he can perform parlor tricks with his mind.

The brothers’ lives are changed forever when they receive a belated inheritance from their father: a staff with a mysterious stone on top, a pair of rogue’s bracers, and a sword that Will can barely lift. Searching for an explanation, it is not until a strange key whisks the brothers across time and space, into a terrifying version of New Orleans ruled by wizards, that the brothers accept the truth and undergo a perilous journey home. With the help of an alluring but deadly adventuress, they must break into the keep of a sorcerer known for his love of diabolical games, find a trio of enchanted talismans, and somehow defeat an evil wizard who can raise legions of the undead to do his bidding.

It seems the brothers have found their adventure. But will they live to tell the tale?

I just finished this over the weekend, and was super pleased with the whole thing. It was a fun story, super action packed, and I am excited to see where this series is going! My review for this one will be up mid-June.

What Do You Think You’ll Read Next?

18692431

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

I’m on the fence whether or not I actually want to read this next, but since the movie is coming, I figured I should read it before there are a million and one spoilers out there. But we’ll see what I’m in the mood for once I finish the Christie.

What are you planning to read next?

4 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday [24/05/17]

Leave a Reply

