Book Related

April Wrap Up & May Plans

April has felt like it has taken ten million years to get through, but also like it kind of flew by. Or is that just me?

Anyway.

April’s been a crazy month for me, but somehow I’ve really managed to stay on top of things when it comes to this blog (we won’t comment on the rest of my life). Almost every stat record I had was broken this month, which is super cool, and I topped 400 WordPress followers the other day. So thank you all so much for that! I have been really sucky at keeping up with responding to comments and everyone else’s blog posts, though, so apologies for that.

I also became a Book Depository affiliate!

It’s been a pretty busy hectic month on the non-blogging/reading side of things, but lots of good things come of it. Band concerts, trips to Saskatchewan, getting my wisdom teeth out, lots of work scheduling and planning and stressing. Which is why I’ve sucked at following your guys’ stuff. But I’m working on that. It should ease up a bit soon. Well, in June, more like.

But let’s get down to this, shall we?

Books I Reviewed:

Geekerella by Ashley Poston 5/5
I love this book so much. Definitely one of the best I’ve read this year so far, and one that’s been getting a lot of much-deserved buzz around here. It’s a great story that will make your inner geek dance in strange circles around your head.

Ignite by Danielle Rogland 4/5
I had a few minor issues with this book, but it’s a great debut! If you were a part of the dystopian craze a while back, you’ll love this one and it’s great characters and setting.

Remnants by Carolyn Arnold 3/5
As far as crime novels go, this one is pretty standard. It’s good, don’t get me wrong. The mystery is well thought out and it’s fast paced, but it doesn’t really bring anything new to the table. As someone who has read/watched a lot of crime stuff, I wasn’t overly impressed, but I enjoyed it.

Music Of The Ghosts by Vaddey Ratner 0/5
DNF @ pg. 80. This book sounded so interesting, and it’s really well done, it’s just not my thing. It was too slow and too wordy for my tastes, though I can totally see why it gets the high rating it does.

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner 5/5
I can’t believe how long I waited to read this, because it is so good. This book tore my heart into a million pieces and I was in love with all the characters within a hundred pages. I can’t wait to read more by Zentner.

The Gauntlet by Karuna Riazi 3/5
This was a fun middle grade novel that reminded me so much of Jumanji. The writing is great, and the characters are fun. I had a hard time getting into the writing style, and I found the games a little simplistic, but I do believe that this book will do well.

Ashes to Ashes by Valerie Thomas 2/5
This book has such an amazing idea and plot line to it, and I am still so intrigued where these books are going. But the writing is messy, it feels all over the place, and it can be hard to follow the timeline at times.

Beartown by Fredrik Backman 5/5
I read this book over a month ago now, and I am still so mad about some of the things that happened. This is another book that just tears at your heart and leaves you broken at the end. It’s wonderfully written, and you’ll love all of the characters, even when you want to hate them.

Paperweight by Meg Haston 4/5
This was a really interesting view into eating disorders, how treatment can be, and how our feelings can manifest in our lives. I had a hard time connecting with some of the characters, but I enjoyed the book overall.

Books I Read, and the Review Will Go Up in May:

Somehow I’m a month or so ahead with when I’m scheduling reviews for books I’ve read. I have no idea how this happened, but we’re gonna go with it, because I’d rather be crazy ahead than falling behind.

Books I Acquired In May:

From Publishers:

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen (thank you, Penguin Random House Canada!)
The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli
Fireworks by Katie Cotugno
Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy (thank you HCC Frenzy for these three!)
The Grumpface by BCR Fegan (thank you Tale Blade Press!)

From Authors:

Death Unmasked by Rick Sulik
The Brothers Three by Layton Green
Tompkin’s School for the Dearly Departed by Tabi Slick
Road to Yesterday by Greta Cribbs

Books I Purchased:

Sea-Wave by Rolli
Calvin by Martine Leavitt
Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner
Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

Plans for May:

I plan to get reviews up for The Grumpface and Road to Yesterday in May, and I’m also planning to read Once and For All, though the review for that won’t go up until June.

Otherwise, I’m hoping to read A Court of Thorns and Roses, because I’ve had this book forever and still haven’t picked it up. And then we’ll see what catches my attention from there!

What are you plans for May? Let me know in the comments below!

18 thoughts on “April Wrap Up & May Plans

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed The Serpent King so much, I loved it too! I’m interested to see your thoughts on Caraval and The Upside Of UnRequited because I haven’t read them yet and want to know if they’re worth the read! Good luck with the rest of your month!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Finishing up the semester. Starting summer break and being a hostess at Applebees. Sometime in May, I will be attending a Les Mis-themed party. As a matter of fact, over the summer, I am reading Oliver Twist and attempting to finish it by end of summer. In between semesters is the only time I have room of reading the classics. Attempting to finish them in a limited amount of time gives me the right motivation to finish them

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

