Book Related

Things That Make Me Not Want To Read A Book

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted on The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme goes along with last weeks Things That Make Me Instantly Want to Read A Book, but the opposite: things that make me not want to read a book.

There are some things that just don’t interest me, and as I read more and more books, there are some things that I know just don’t work for me, or won’t catch my attention. Once you’ve read a bunch of books about some things that you just don’t enjoy, you learn to stop picking them up. There are always the few exceptions to any rule, but as a general, you figure it out.

So here are some of mine!

Historical Ficton

One exception to this rule: World War Two fiction.
I have never been able to get into any sort of historical fiction aside from WW2 stuff. It doesn’t seem to matter where it’s set or what time period it is, I just can’t get into them.

Aliens

I don’t get the hype about aliens. I have absolutely no interest in aliens, or invasions or anything like that. Space stuff and humanoid creatures who happen to be from space? Fine. Aliens coming to take over or alien-like creatures? No thank you.

Love Stories/Romance

I don’t mind a good romance subplot when there’s a main story that the book predominantly follows. But books that revolve around nothing but a love story? No thank you.

‘This Book Will Be The Next… X’

There are a million books with a sentence similar to this. The next Harry Potter, Hunger Games, so on so forth. And those books were fine, but any time I see this, I immediately put the book down. Any books I’ve read that have claimed this have always been disappointing, so I just avoid them.

Zombies

I just never got on board with the zombie thing. Most of the time, they’re fine, but not really my thing.

Pirates/Vampires/Werewolves

See: Zombies

Westerns

I’ve never been big on cowboys or gunslingers or anything like that. I grew up watching them on tv because my dad loved them, but I never got the appeal. I do like country music though.

Anything with a reference to textspeak

I have DNFed books because the author used textspeak in their book. You should never write ‘haha’ in a book. You write that they laughed. It is never appropriate to use chatspeak in a book unless you are quoting a text or IM.

What are some of your book turn offs? Let me know in the comments below!

10 thoughts on “Things That Make Me Not Want To Read A Book

  1. It’s crazy how many lists I’ve seen with “historical fiction” on this week, but I totally get where everyone is coming from. I actually really like historical fiction, but a very specific type – it has to be based around a crime or mystery. I couldn’t just read a straight up book about oldy-woldy times haha! Great list. Agree about the Pirates/Vampires/Werewolves/Zombies thing although, again, there are exceptions for each in my case 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

