Book Related

March Wrap Up and April Plans

It’s the last day of March which must mean that it’s time for yet another wrap up!

I feel like I did a lot of reading this month, as well as a fair bit of blogging. I’ve actually got the best stats of my entire blogging career this past month – over a thousand views, and settings new records for everything else as well. Thanks so much for all your support, folks!

I also hit one full year of Songs Wrote My Story this month! I can’t believe I’ve actually stuck with this an entire year. It’s been such a fun adventure and such a journey delving into this world of books, and I’m so looking forward to many more!

But let’s get down to business, shall we?

Books I Reviewed in March

(Since I’m about a month ahead on reviews, I’m going to list the ones that actually went up around here, for simplicity’s sake.)

The Princess Saves Herself In This One by Amanda Lovelace 3/5
I enjoyed the inspiration and way that the story came through, but I wouldn’t go so far as to call this good poetry.

A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron 4/5
This is a fun story that will make your heart happy and make you want to go hug your favourite dog. The author could have done so much more with it, but it was sweet nonetheless.

The Fall of Lisa Bellow by Susan Perabo 4/5
This is a fascinating take on the classic taken child story, talking about the girl who was left behind rather than the one who was taken. If you’re into those sorts of stories, you should definitely check this one out to see what you’ve been missing.

Slade House by David Mitchell 4/5
This is a fun, creepy novel that revolves around a haunted house. Rather than being cheesy the way that haunted house stories can be, Slade House is smart and the perfect amount of creepy without going overboard.

King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard 3/5
After really enjoying the first two books in this series, I was a bit disappointed by this one. There were some great things happening, but otherwise it just didn’t hold up the standard of the last ones. I do have my fingers crossed for the last book though.

Books I Acquired

From Publishers/Authors For Review:
Geekerella by Ashley Poston (thanks Penguin Random House Canada!)
Beartown by Fredrik Backman (thanks Simon & Schuster Canada!)
Ashes to Ashes by Valerie Thomas (thanks Valerie Thomas!)

My Own Purchases:
Frost Like Night by Sara Raasch
Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Plans for April

I’ve been doing quite a bit of reading this month, and have a few books scheduled already for review in April so keep an eye out for reviews of:
Beartown by Fredrik Backman
The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner
Music of the Ghosts by Vaddey Ratner
Remnants by Carolyn Arnold
Ignite by Danielle Rogland
Geekerella by Ashley Poston

As for books I’m planning to read, I’ve got two review copies I’m planning to tackle in April, which are The Crown Princess Voyage by Dylan Madeley and Ashes to Ashes by Valerie Thomas. I also just got my copy of Caraval, and I’m super excited to read it. And The Ice Twins has been tempting me on my Kobo for ages now, and I really want to check it out.

What are you planning to read in the coming month? Let me know in the comments below.

Connect with me on: Twitter | Goodreads | Instagram

6 thoughts on “March Wrap Up and April Plans

Leave a Reply

