Book Related

New York Times ‘By The Book’ Tag

New York Times ‘By The Book’ Tag was created by Marie Berg on Youtube. I, however, was tagged by Klara @ Ribbon Reviews way back in October, and because I’m bad at this, I am only getting around to it now (I do appreciate the tag though!).

Let’s do this, shall we?

What book is on your nightstand now?

I don’t read a lot in bed, so I’ve just got a short story collection there now. I’ve only read a couple out of The Paper Menagerie, but I am loving them so far!

However, if you were to look in the designated ‘currently reading’ spot on the coffee table, you’d find The Fall of Lisa Bellows.

What was the last truly great book you read?

This is hard, because I tend to be super critical about books, but the last one that I really enjoyed was Lindsey Stirling’s biography. It reads the way her concerts are, and it’s a lot of fun.253305441

If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

So here’s the thing: I have little interest in meeting writers. I have this bizarre belief that if I meet them, the magic of their stories would be ruined. They won’t be what I imagine them to be, and it’ll affect how I perceive the stories.

But if I was going to pick one, I’d probably pick Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, because I want to know how he came up with his mysteries.

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

I’m pretty open about what I read, so I’m not sure what you would find surprising. For work, I have lots of books about music psychology and music therapy and development. That’s probably the strangest stuff, in comparison to what I talk about on here.

How do you organize your personal library?

My work books are all together in the office, separate from my ‘fun’ books.

As for my fiction/leisure reading books, I currently have ARCs and mass market paperbacks on one shelf, hardcovers on another, and paperbacks on remaining shelfs. Paperbacks, since I have the most of them, are divided into series and stand-alones. And everything is alphabetical within their categories.

Just a bit complicated, as I try to write it out.

What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet?

5129

Disappointed, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like, but didn’t?

This could be a long list, but City of Bones, Romeo and Juliet, and anything by Nicholas Sparks definitely come to mind first.

What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

I love magical realism so much. I’ve picked up books just because of this. I also enjoy mystery or crime stories that involve children or teen main characters, anything that feels like a faerie tale, and fantasy novels as a general.

I steer clear of romance. I just can’t do it. Love doesn’t conquer all, it’s just a nice addition.

If you could require the President Prime Minister to read one book, what would it be?

I honestly don’t know. I’ve never met the guy, and don’t know if the sort of books I like to read would be of any benefit to him.

What do you plan to read next?

Once I finish The Fall of Lisa Bellow, I’m planning to read either The King’s Cage or A Dog’s Purpose. It’ll depend on what I’m in the mood for when that time comes.

I tag…

You! If you want to do this one and have been just waiting to be tagged, consider yourself tagged!

3 thoughts on “New York Times ‘By The Book’ Tag

  1. This is an awesome tag with some great questions!

    I’ve meant to read Brave New World one of these days, along with quite a few other classics.

    Oh dear, that President question…that’ll take some thinking when I do this. Can I just lock mine in the library for the next four years? 😉

    Thanks for the open invitation to do this tag!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

