Book Related

Books I Didn’t Love as Much as I Hoped I Would

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over on The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme is ‘books that you loved more or less than you thought you would’. I’m going with the latter for this post. Some books get so hyped up and you get so excited about them that you just can’t wait to get your hands on them when they hit the bookshelves. But then you read it an just aren’t impressed with what you find, and are a bit disappointed that you aren’t on the same page as everyone else.

So here are some books that I wanted to love, but I just didn’t.

28260587

I loved the first four books, but I was just disappointed by this one. It was fine, but after how excited everyone was about it and how much everyone seemed to love it, it just didn’t live up to the hype. I’m optimistic for the next one though.

23212667

This book looked so good, and the concept of telling the story in reverse was such a cool idea. But it just wasn’t executed well.

10959277

There was so much potential in this book, but it was way too focused on who each of the characters was going to marry rather than trying to change something that would actually make a huge difference in the world. While that’s probably what teens would do, it still could have been better.

28448287

The dual perspective in this book was really interesting, but I wish there had been more story in this one. It feels like it ended way too early.

24529123

School shooting books are super hit or miss, and this was a miss. The story was fine, but I just didn’t feel anything from it. I wanted to care about the characters, but I couldn’t.

25065433

This book is so hyped and had so many awards. And I liked it, but I didn’t find it as good as everyone else seemed to.

25528801

This is another book that I found to be a missed opportunity. It didn’t seem particularly realistic, and I think it would have been a much better book if everything hadn’t been so easy for the main character.

256683

There is so much hype around this series and everyone seems to love it. But I tried reading this and it was painful. The writing was bad, the storytelling was bad, and it felt like a fanfiction. I’m sure it gets better in later books, but I just can’t.

11408650

There’s so much hype around this series and I just found it kind of boring.

What are some books that you enjoyed less than you originally thought you would?

9 thoughts on “Books I Didn’t Love as Much as I Hoped I Would

  1. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child was number one on my list of disappointment books for this week’s topic. 😦

    I’ve tried reading some of these books. Jandy Nelson is an author that I just can’t get into, even though the stories sound great. Something about the writing style lets me down and I get bored. :/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read the first book in the mortal instrument series years ago and I can’t even remember if I liked it or not. I just know I never picked up the next book and to be honest I don’t think I will. I have heard they improve as the series goes on but it’s a LONG series and I’d rather read books that I’ll enjoy from the start!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve heard of so many of these books, but I was super hesitant about picking them up for myself. One book I’m the most sketched out about reading The Cursed Child, because it has so many conflicting reviews. I just really don’t want to ruin the HP series for myself. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

