Everything Else

So I’m Trying Out This Twitter Thing…

…And I may need some help.

Somehow, despite the fact that Twitter came out and was cool when I was in school and the appropriate age for being all up on social media things, I totally missed the Twitter bus. I suck at most social media (I have a personal facebook and some work stuff, and that’s it), so I never really bothered with it or got into it. I have a Twitter page related to my business, but I think it’s been about a year since I updated it, and it’s strictly a work thing where I share posters for my programs and scientific articles.

But I keep hearing about the book community on Twitter, so I’ve decided to give it a go.

Here’s the problem though: I legit have no idea how to Twitter. I feel like an old granny trying to understand the culture of the youth on there. I don’t know what to do.

So I’m reaching out for help! What do I do? What do I post? How do I figure out what’s going on? Who should I follow? How do I find things I like? Please, please, please give me some advice! (And tell me your handle so I can follow you too!)

You can find my page here. I’m planning to do some better images when I have some time, and just have place holders in there now. And I figured out how to share stuff between here and instagram and there. but that’s as far as I’ve gotten.

Thank you in advance!!!

22 thoughts on “So I’m Trying Out This Twitter Thing…

  1. Yay! Following you now! ^^
    You can connect your Goodreads/Instagram/Wordpress to your Twitter account and they’ll post all the updates for you. You can also search for tags you enjoy and it will show you posts and people you should follow based on those tags. As for what else to do there… Well sometimes there are cool live chats where bloggers and authors participate. You can also share your opinions and chat with people more casually – just post whatever it’s on your mind at the time! Finally, follow some authors/publishers to get the latest news on their books!
    Hope it helps! I’m sure you’ll have fun there 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve found how to hook up Twitter and WordPress, which is awesome. I’ll definitely have to look into the others though, because that’s handy.
      This is really great, thank you! I’ll have to check out some of the live chats and hashtags (which I’m slowly figuring out…).

      Like

  2. I’m so glad you posted this because I am in the same boat as you haha. I don’t really know how Twitter work either and I’ve had it for a few years. Haven’t used it much until now b/c I was looking to find the book community, too! 😀 I’ll be looking forward to other people’s responses to this one haha

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just followed you 🙂 To be honest, I’m super random with my posts. I comment on other peoples posts more probably – the only thing you need to be aware of, is that the twitter book community is a bit divided…every book seems to be “problematic” which is really frustrating when all you wanna do is read!

    Twitter traffic is pretty high, so don’t be disheartened if people aren’t liking your posts. Some days I’m lucky to get one like. In terms of who to follow, @jquinnbooks @KristyBookNerd @weereader @pieraforde @_diversebooks – they’re just a few, and they’re fellow bloggers too 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Well for instance, Carve the Mark is one that has been mentioned a lot because apparently (I haven’t read it so only going by 2nd hand info) it is racist. The Continent was another one where it was deemed racist. Nevernight was called out because of use of the word ‘savages’. So there is a lot of disagreeing about what is racist/homophobic/ableist etc. No worries at all! Sorry if I just made twitter sound like a scary place, it really isn’t! There are a lot of awesome people who just love to read, which is why I gave you those accounts to follow 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s good to know! I have seen a bit about Carve the Mark, but like you, haven’t read it so can’t really have an opinion. Always good to know what you’re getting yourself into though.

        I am enjoying the ones you suggested, thanks again for the suggestions!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I was so confused when I started Twitter. And I’m still not a power-user or anything, but that’s fine. I just like it to casually chat with people about books. I think some of the best things to think about are balancing tweeting links with other updates. People also like answering questions and polls that are tweeted.

    I’ve had to cut back on Twitter a little bit myself though. If you’ve not been on Twitter, I don’t know how much you’ve heard about Twitter “drama” (a loaded word for use, and one some people disagree with). But I was personally finding logging on to Twitter a negative and stressful experienced lately, so changing who I followed to get the sorts of updates I’m really interested in was very important to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Confused is a good word for it 😛 That’s smart though, the balancing of what you post. I will definitely keep that in mind!
      I’ve heard of Twitter drama, but that’s about as much as I know about it. Definitely something to keep in mind, though, because I’m not much for drama.
      Thank you!

      Like

  5. I don’t really get Twitter. I mean, I understand how to use it, but I don’t understand why it’s so popular. I have an account, but I rarely post things on it. I don’t feel like I can adequately express what I am trying to say in so few characters. Hey, to each their own, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So many places to get involved in the book community! ^_^

    I’d start with Lindsay’s article here: http://www.piercebooks.com/single-post/2016/08/25/ULTIMATE-WritersAuthors-Hashtag-Bible

    She has a list of all the writer (daily one liners) hashtags where you can connect with writers. Or follow some of the Twitter Pitch contests – #PitchWars, #SffPit, #PitchSlam, #SonofaPitch. Agents, editors and publishers also follow the writer hashtags, so that should help you get your feet wet. 😛

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

