Book Related

January Wrap Up and Plans For February

Holy macaroni, how are we at the end of January already?

This has been one of those weird months where the days went by fast, but the weeks took forever to get through. Transitioning into a new year is always fun though, and I got to move to a new place recently, so all in all, it has been a good month.

But let’s get down to this wrap up, shall we?

Books Read and Reviewed

So in efforts to keep myself ahead of the game on posts and reviews, incase of life getting busy, some of these were read in December, some in January. But for sake of keeping things simple, I’m going with the books I reviewed this month.

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen 4.5/5
I’ve reread this book a bunch of times, and I’m still in love with it. One of my favourite Dessen books for sure (though Just Listen will forever be my favourite).

This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp 2.5/5
This was my plane book on my trip home for the holidays. It had so much potential, and it just feel short. The story was good, but it was hard to connect to this one.

The Magician’s Dream by LeAnn Mathis 4/5
I received a copy of this book in exchange for review. And it was a fun, middle grade read. The characters were great, the magical world was awesome, and it handles some touchy subjects really well.

Rise: How A House Built A Family by Cara Brookins 4/5
This was another book I received for review. It was one hell of a memoir. Brookins tells her story so well, and keeps you hooked through to the very end. And you have to give the woman credit – how many of us could build a house without any training?

No Problem, Mr. Walt by Walt Hackman 2/5
Yet another book I received for review. The memoir was fine, just not my taste. The process of getting the boat built was fascinating, though, and Hackman had some really interesting moments on his China trips.

Winterviews

winterviews

Getting involved with this was a bit of a fluke, but it was a blast! Many thanks to K.J. Harrowick for allowing me to be involved with this, and putting up with all my questions and comments.

If you missed it, and want to check out the interview, you can find it here: Chatting With K.J. Harrowick: Winterviews, Writing, and More. If you want to read even more about it, check out K.J. Harrowick’s blog.

Books I Acquired

This might be a tricky list to put together, as I was moving this month, and books were getting shoved all over, but here are at least some of them.

Plans For February

I’ve read three books this month that you can expect to see reviewed next:
Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch
The Only Pirate At The Party by Lindsey Stirling and Brooke S. Passey
The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler

I am also planning to read one book for review:
Atone for the Ivory Cloud by Geoffrey Wells

Other books I am hoping to get to are:

We’ll see how it goes though.

What books are you planning to read in February? Let me know in the comments below!

 

7 thoughts on “January Wrap Up and Plans For February

  1. Oooh you had a good month! I loved Passenger, I’m going to be reading Wayfarer this month…and the best thing is that it’s only a duology, so no more waiting around for more books for this series, yay!!! I really didn’t like the Red Queen series unfortunately, so I gave up on that series. Good luck for February!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

