Book Related

Best Books I Read in 2016

As the year begins to come to a close, it’s time to start thinking of the best books of the year. There are a million of these lists out and around, but I don’t always read whatever is new and cool and on those lists. So here’s my best books of 2016, in no particular order!

18770398

I only picked this up because my friend handed it to me and said I needed to read it. And I’m so glad I did. I do need to read this again and actually check out all of the additional electronic-y stuff.

29056083

There were a lot of mixed reviews on this one, but I actually enjoyed it. It let me go back to my fun, Harry Potter filled youth, and finally get a new story in a world I grew up in.

18498558

I read this book in one sitting because it was so addictive. And I’m planning to give it to at least two people this Christmas, so I can share the love.

12000020

I find that contemporary YA is not really my thing anymore, but I did love this book. It’s such a good story of friendship and family and love. And there are so many incredibly lines to quote.

16429619

This series is so good, definitely one of my favourites that I’ve picked up this year. And considering that I only picked it up because the main character shared a name with a character I wrote.

11235712

I read this whole series this year, and had such a good time with it. Fairy tale rewrites are so much fun, and all of the science fiction elements just took it up another notch.

1118668

This book is incredible. Such a unique perspective and wonderful story. Everyone needs to read this book.

16034235

This series is so addictive. I’m currently working on Empire of Storms, and I can’t believe I’ll have to wait for the last one once I’m finished.

9361589

The atmosphere and the world building is absolutely incredible. I’ve never had a book transport me the way that is one does.

 24407979

This book is so good! It’s such a sweet story, and the way that fantasy and reality intertwines for the main character is beautifully done.


What are the best books you’ve read this year? Let me know in the comments below!

7 thoughts on “Best Books I Read in 2016

  1. Great choices! I love Night Film so much, it’s one of my favourite books. Your post just reminded me that I never checked out the electronic stuff – I have the e-book version which didn’t work with the app – so I’ve just ordered myself a physical copy 🙂 I went to see Harry Potter and the Cursed Child earlier in the month and LOVED it. I saw so many negative reviews of the book, so I’m glad to see someone else felt the same way as me. I’m also glad to hear you enjoyed Bird Box – I really want to check that one out soon.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ahh, I hope you get a chance to see it live someday! It was magical 🙂 I haven’t read it in script format yet, but I’m hoping to pick up a copy of the book soon. I will definitely check out Bird Box soon, I love creepy books! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

