Reviews

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from New York Times bestselling author, National Book Award finalist, and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.

And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

16143347

Song For This Book: Rebellion (Lies) by Arcade Fire
Why? A song about lying and rebellion just fits a book where lies are paramount and a bunch of teenagers are trying to make their point.

3/5

This book has been sitting on my shelf for a while, but I kept putting off reading it. I’d found it on sale, but the slew of negative reviews had me picking up other books first, figuring I’d get around to it someday. But I had just finished a couple of really intense reads, and I need something easy, short, and light enough to feel like a bit of a break. This one caught my eye, so I picked it up.

And it wasn’t as bad as I had thought it was going to be. It’s not the Next Great Novel by any means, but it’s a fun little read with a good twist and that summer vacation feel. It almost makes you wish that you had an island of your own to spend every summer on, even if the rest of the family is kind of crazy.

But let’s get down to the details, shall we?



The Good Points of We Were Liars:

There are so many books that are written too long for the amount of story in them, and this definitely wasn’t the case with this book. It’s short, but it fits the story perfectly, not leaving you feeling like it’s being dragged on and on and on until your brain hurts.

There are a bunch of little fairy tales dispersed throughout the book, relating to what is happening on the island. And they are by far the best thing about this book. They’re creative and fun and I loved every single one of them.

There are mixed reactions to the twist that comes at the end of the book, and I can definitely see why. But I did really enjoy it. I totally didn’t see it coming, but it made perfect sense when I did know, which makes it a darn good twist in my book.

I know it’s so overdone, but I love a good family drama. Cady’s family is completely insane, and it’s so much fun.

The Downsides of We Were Liars:

The writing in this book was absolutely ridiculous. Just… why? Why were sentences broken over lines, why were there so many weird analogies and metaphors. It made the book more confusing and harder to read.

And on that note, I found this book confusing at times. The main character is totally unreliable, but why couldn’t she be clearer when it came to details of what really happened and what was made up in her head? There is mention of her being shot by her father in the first couple of pages, and I still am not 100% if that really happened, or if she’s just crazy.

The characters are pretty one dimensional and there were so many. It’s a pretty short book, so I get that there isn’t much time to develop everyone well, but at least the more major ones should have been developed more. And I wish there were less cousins and people to keep track of because it was hard when they really didn’t matter.

I still don’t know why they were called Liars. Like, no idea.


All in all, I enjoyed this book. It was a fun, easy read, and it was a nice break from all of the serious, heavy books I’d been reading lately. I wished I had understood the book a bit more, but it was addictive and fun. If you’re looking for something with a fun twist and is easy to read, you should definitely give this one a go.

2 thoughts on “We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Leave a Reply

