Reviews

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

28260587

Song For This Book: Girl on Fire by Alicia Keys 
Why: I honestly just couldn’t resist.

3/5

I picked this book up immediately after I had finished Queen of Shadows, because I absolutely needed to know what happens next. Which, in retrospect, may not have been the best plan, because binge reading isn’t my thing. But that’s what happened anyway, and I have no regrets.

This is another book that feels like a transition, much like Heir of Fire did. There’s lot of stuff happening, but it all feels like it’s building towards something else. While this was better than Heir of Fire for things actually happening, it still seemed like I was waiting for something that just wasn’t happening. So maybe that’s the next book. Let’s hope, anyway, because I’m not sure that too many more things can fall apart before the whole of Erilea just completely fails.

The Good Points of Empire of Storms:

Aelin is a sneaky bugger in the best possible way. I love how her plans come into play, and how she’s been working on them for longer than you would have ever thought. Maas takes details and spreads them throughout the entire series, and then whacks you over the back of the head with them.

I really liked the pacing in this book. It was incredibly long, but a lot did happen, and it happened fairly quickly. Things blew up a lot, and a lot of people did a lot of things that were sometimes good and sometimes bad. So it worked in the long run.

The more I read about Manon, the more I love her. She’s probably my favourite character in the series by now, and I love the way her conscience is now playing more of a role in her actions.

The Dorian/Rowan bromance, guys. That’s all.

The Downsides of Empire of Storms: 

While I like sex as much as the next person, these scenes seemed completely unnecessary. They didn’t really add anything to the story, and seemed to serve no purpose other than to weird me out a little bit. They weren’t really that hot, just… out of place?

I feel like there was less creativity in this book. There are some details that were brilliantly played and thought out throughout the book, but some major revealed plot points just made me thing of Harry Potter and other fantasy novels who used the exact same premises and revealed them in the same way. It was disappointing, after so much of this series reminded me of nothing else at all.

I read this book and series because I love fantasy. But this seemed like it was almost more romance than fantasy, which made me sad.


All in all, I enjoyed this book, though I still thing that this series was at it’s best in the first two books. I am excited to see what the next book brings up, and how this is all going to go down. I would honestly not be surprised if the next book is 2000 pages long, because there’s that much to get through.

Have you read Empire of Storms? Do you agree/disagree? Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I LOVED this book in general, BUT I’m just not much of a Rowan fan for whatever reason. I just don’t feel that chemistry that say Feyre and Rhysand have😍😍😍. I think that’s why the big sex scene lacked impact for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

