Book Related

Talking Murder and Writing: An Interview with John Ukah

I have something extra special to share with you today, folks! SongsWroteMyStory is presenting it’s first every author interview!

Today, we’re going to be chatting with John Ukah, the author of Murder at Midnight, a thrilling story about an ex-police office who goes away for some rest and relaxation and ends up wrapped up in a murder case. But I’ll let him tell you more about the book, and about himself.

Let’s do this, shall we?

john-ukah

Let’s start with a get to know you question: Tell us three things about you. Anything you want.

My name is John Ukah. I grew up in Benin City, Edo State of Nigeria. I enjoy watching highly skilled dancers but I can’t dance to save my life.

Have you always been interested in writing?

I have always kept a personal journal. Writing has always been a part of me. 

When did you start writing?

My first story was titled, ‘Zatuta and the People of Apa’. I was about 10 or 11 when I wrote it.

Tell us a bit about your book, Murder At Midnight?

The story is about a young lady who discovered a dark secret and was murdered in a guesthouse at midnight. Almost every other guest at the Lodge appears to have had a motive to kill her. The interesting thing is that there’s been another death before, in the same room that this particular character died…

Where did you get the inspiration for the story?

The story took shape after I was awakened one night by unusual footsteps outside my door. My imagination immediately took flight.

What was it like to get it published? Was it difficult?

Publishing in this clime (Nigeria) is not easy. However, I was fortunate to have met my publisher, The Fearless Storyteller House Emporium Ltd, who made the endeavour a lot easier.

What are your expectations for the book once it’s released?

The book was released on 15 November and I have very high expectations for the book based on feedback received thus far. I invite the readers to enjoy the interesting dynamics between the characters, which is at the core of this whodunit thriller. 

Can we expect any more stories from you?

Most certainly. I am already working on a detective thriller.

Is your book similar to the books you like to read? What are your favourite books?

In many ways, my books are like those I enjoy reading. My books are detective thrillers, murder mysteries, and horror stories. 

What do you like to do when you’re not writing stories?

I like reading, watching movies and football. I also enjoy drawing.

Anything else you’d like to share with the readers?

That they can now get their copy of “Murder At Midnight” at any of the major online bookstores in Kindle, EPUB and iBook formats. Oh, there’ll also be a Facebook release party being put together by my publisher, later this month!


Well, there you have it folks! Many thanks to John Ukah for taking the time to answer my questions!

If you’d like to check out the book for yourself, check out these purchase links: United StatesUnited KingdomGermany, FranceSpainItalyNetherlandsJapanBrazilCanadaMexicoAustralia, and India. It is also available on SmashwordsKobo, Apple, Barnes & Noble (Nook)Okadabooks, and major online stores. They are in Kindle (ISBN: 9789785470703), EPUB and iBook (ISBN: 9789785470710) formats.

Leave a Reply

