Reviews

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

The queen has returned.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

18006496

Song For This Book:  We Didn’t Start The Fire by Billy Joel
Why? Aelin didn’t the fire, but she’s gonna fight it!

4.5/5

This review will not contain spoilers from the previous three books, but will not contain spoilers from this book.

After being rather disappointed by Heir of Fire, I was a little hesitant to get into this instalment. But I kept being told to keep going, that it would pick up again, and that I wouldn’t be disappointed with Queen of Shadows. It took me a little while to get to it, mostly because I had no motivation after Heir of Fire, but I’m so glad I did.

This book picks up pretty quickly after Heir of Fire leaves off. We dive right in, and things start getting pretty crazy pretty quickly. We finally get to meet the infamous Arobynn, we’re introduced to a couple of new faces, and find out more about some familiar ones. And all the drama and action is so darn addictive.

Obviously, if I didn’t enjoy the book, I wouldn’t be writing a review for the fourth book. But I’m going to give this a good go anyway.

The Good Points of Queen of Shadows:

The pacing in this book is absolutely incredible. It’s a long book, but it didn’t feel like it, because every time one thing gets resolved, something else blows up in everyone’s face. I was through the book before I even realized it.

I liked the way that Aelin has grown from the time when she was called Celaena. A lot has carried over, but you can see how the events of the previous books have changed her and caused her to grow. It’s a refreshing to see a character grow so much in a fantasy novel.

I desperately wanted to skip the chapters with Manon Blackbeak in the last book, but I can totally see the purpose of those in this book. And I really enjoyed them in this book, and I am growing to love Manon’s character, along with some of the other witches.

I love love love the Rowen/Aedion bromance. I would be completely alright if those two ended up together and Aelin ended up with someone else. But for now, I’ll settle for their bromance.

As with all of the other books, the world is just so well done. It’s detailed and consistent, and what every fantasy world really should be.

The Bad Points of Queen of Shadows:

I’m not entirely sure what is going on with the romantic subplots in this book. It’s not necessarily a bad thing, but it is just… weird. Some of the relationships and chemistry from previous books have completely disappeared, and everyone goes on as if nothing has ever happened.

There were a few things about the ending I felt came out of left field. The whole thing with the king (I say nothing more) seemed so random, though other facts about this whole thing did work. I have some other thoughts about the ending, but I can’t say without spoilers.

All in all, I really enjoyed this book, and I can’t wait to pick up the next one. It’s such an addictive series, and I can totally see why it gets all the hype that it does in the book blogging world. If you’re not totally sold with Heir of Fire, don’t let it stop you from giving this one a go, because it really does pick up.

10 thoughts on “Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I’ve yet to pick up this series, but not a huge fan of Fantasy and will only read one series at a time, though I have all the books that have been released at present… I’m sure I’ll cave in to all the hype, and great reviews like yours, and start the Maas adventure early next year. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

