Book Related

I Messed Up! Book Tag

I was tagged for this one forever ago by Cassiopeia’s Moon, and took ages to actually get around to doing it. Thank you for the tag!

Let’s do this, shall we?

A CHARACTER APPEARANCE YOU MISREAD OR IMAGINED DIFFERENTLY?

Chances are, every darn one of them. I tend to skim descriptions to get to the story, which means I tend to miss details. I tend to mess up hair colours and skin colours especially, just picking whatever one seems to make the most sense in my head.

A CHARACTER NAME THAT YOU’VE BEEN PRONOUNCING WRONG?

Hermione from Harry Potter until the movies came out. 90% of the characters in Lord of the Rings. A couple from Throne of Glass. I blame my childhood accent for this.

AN OVERUSED TROPE THAT IS YOUR GUILTY PLEASURE?

I love friends-to-lovers if done well. I’m also a huge fan of kick-butt female leads. I don’t know if it’s a trope, but it’s crazy common these days, so I’m including it anyway.

A CLICHE CHARACTER THAT YOU LIKE BETTER ON SCREEN THAN READING ABOUT?

I’m actually not sure about this one. Usually my opinions on such things are the same from books to movies.

A WORD OR PHRASE THAT YOU LEARNED BECAUSE OF IT’S USE IN BOOKS?

There are probably quite a few of these, honestly. The first one that comes to mind is the description of a pleasurable, physical experience with a significant other or crush as ‘electricity’. It drives me crazy, and I never heard it until it popped up in books I was reading.

HAVE YOU EVER READ/NOT COMPLETED A REQUIRED READING BOOK FOR SCHOOL?

I spark-noted all my books for one of my university English classes, because with my music schedule, I didn’t actually have time to read them. And they were all boring, which didn’t help.

HOW YOU EVER SKIPPED (OR WANTED TO) A CHAPTER FROM THE POINT OF VIEW OF A CHARACTER YOU WEREN’T INTERESTED IN?

The first time I read a book, I read all of it. The second and future times, I skip all the points of views that I don’t like. So yes, regularly.

HAVE YOU EVER CANCELLED SOCIAL PLANS TO READ A BOOK?

I have not. But I also have a couple of friends who are open to changing plans to drinking coffee and reading/talking books, which helps.


I TAG

YOU. If you want to do this, consider yourself tagged.

10 thoughts on “I Messed Up! Book Tag

  1. I have never heard of anybody skipping chapters before :O But I know, sometimes I’d like to do it too (especially when I hate characters) Do you feel like you miss out some parts or don’t get the logic in some books? Or do you still understand everything that happens when you skip pages?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It depends on the book, honestly. Some you can skip a bunch of pages and not miss a thing, and some you need to read every word. Usually if I’m skipping parts, I’m not that into the book to begin with, though. Or I’ve read it all before, and don’t want to read it again.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I also pronounced Hermione’s name wrong, oh I loved being a child and pronouncing names exactly the way you spell them! Works quite often with Swedish names, but some English and a lot of fantasy names are, well, not pronunciation friendly. At least not for a kid 😀

    And don’t worry about being late. Better late then never^^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

