Reviews

Tompkin’s School: For The Extraodinarily Talented by Tabi Slick

Izara Torvik thought her life was over the moment that her father sent her and her twin brother to a boarding school in the middle of nowhere Oklahoma. She soon discovers that the school is not as ordinary as she thought and finds herself thrown into a battle against her inner demons that only have one desire…the desire to kill.

Once my body stopped trembling, I picked myself up. It felt strange, my feet seemed to fall much lighter on the ground than normal. My head also felt a bit fuzzy. I turned and froze as I caught myself in the reflection of a full-length mirror. I glided forward to get a closer look. My eyelids had sunken into my skull and my eyes were red! I reached up to touch my pallid skin only to gawk at my hands. My fingernails had been replaced with dark, black claws.
“I’m a monster,” I hissed.
My eyes flashed up to meet my reflection once again and soon my clawed hands were the least of my worries. Two black, very large things were moving ever so slightly, blocking the reflection of the rest of the room. I looked over my shoulder to find large, black feathered, wings…

29968124

Song For This Book: Dream On by Aerosmith
Why? Something about the sound of this song and the atmosphere it creates just seems to fit the book so well.

3/5

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

This book tells the story of Izara (Izzy) and her brother Kain, who are sent to the middle of nowhere to go to boarding school. But, as you may have guessed, it’s not your typical boarding school, and things start to get weird as people start having strange effects on the twins, and they start transforming on the full moon. And as if that wasn’t enough, it seems there’s something after them.

You never quite know what you’re going to get when you receive review copies of books. But I actually enjoyed this one. It was a fun read, it wasn’t too long, and every twist and turn kept you flipping pages until you got all the way to the end.

The Good Points of Tomkin’s School: For The Extraodinarily Talented:

The pacing of this book is incredibly well done. Everytime you think that you’re getting a bit of a break from craziness, something else gets thrown into the story and messes up any expectations you have. My e-reader was acting up while I was reading this, but the book’s pacing kept me hooked despite any issues I was having with technology. I didn’t want to put it down until I had finished reading it.

I really enjoyed the two main characters, Izzy and Kain. They were well done, they were developed to suit the story, and they were well rounded. I liked how the twins were similar and shared some traits and reactions, but had some obvious differences as well.

The twists and turns in this story are so much fun. I usually am pretty good at figuring out where a story is headed, but I genuinely had no idea where this was going. Things come out of nowhere, and leave you racing to catch up and find out what on earth is going to happen next.

The Downsides of Tomkin’s School: For The Extraordinarily Talented:

This book would have gotten a higher rating from me, if not for the writing. There are a fair few reviews out there from people who loved the writing, so maybe it’s just me. But I read a lot of fanfiction when I was a teenager, and I maintain the opinion that actually-published stories should be written better. And this was on par with the better written fanfictions out there. So it’s fine, but I wanted better.

This is a huge pet peeve for me, but I wish authors across the board wouldn’t use chatspeak in their books. If they laughed, please write that they laughed. Please don’t have them say ‘haha’.

While it takes a while for them to become ‘official’, the one main romance in this sort of pretty insta-love-y. It’s not a major thing in the story (transforming at full moons and related powers kind of take the forefront, as it should), but it was still a thing.

All in all, this book is enjoyable. It’s got incredible twists, and will definitely keep you hooked until the very last page. (And the last page is evil, just so you’re warned. I say nothing more.) If you love thrillers, daemon-type characters, murder mysteries, or boarding school stories, you’re probably going to really enjoy this book.

One thought on “Tompkin’s School: For The Extraodinarily Talented by Tabi Slick

Leave a Reply

