Book Related

Character’s Names I’d Totally Steal For My Own Purposes

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over on The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic of conversation is… *insert drumroll here* Character Names!

I love names, and I’ve stolen many from books to use for my own purposes. I keep a constant list of names that I love for when I create characters for one purpose or another. I also love trends in names that come from popular book releases, and I get to see a lot of them in my area from working in daycares. But that’s another subject for another time.

So here are some of my all time favourite names from books!

5152478

Lia

I actually stole this name about four years ago for a character I still RP today. My character doesn’t resemble this Lia in the slightest, but I adore the name and the spelling.

40440

Adeline

I have a thing for A names, and I think this one is so pretty. I haven’t used it yet, but someday I may.

16429619

Rafe

I once babysat a presenter’s infant at a conference (the company I worked for was hosting, and we all had to contribute), and the little guy’s name was Rafe. I think it’s such a good name for a little boy.

16034235

Chaol

I’ve met a few kids with various spellings of this name, and I think it’s such a good one. It’s unique enough to stand out, but not so much that people can’t pronounce it properly.

17399160

Meira

I just think it’s pretty.

22328546

Maven

I could probably never use this name, for fear of whomever got it being an evil jerk, but I do really like it. It’s such a good villian name.

617810

Bryn

I’ve seen this name on so many people and characters, but I still love it.

18403921

Kota

I’m not particularly fussy about the name Dakota, but I do love this nickname derived from it. I’ve used it for my own characters once or twice.

28448287

Lyra

I’ve loved this name since reading the His Dark Materials series as a kid.

183656

Rhys

I love the spelling for this one.

10 thoughts on “Character’s Names I’d Totally Steal For My Own Purposes

  1. Rafe is such a cool name (and so are all its variations; Raf, Raphael, Raffe, etc.). And so is Bryn. I never used to see any characters (or people) named Bryn, but lately I’ve been noticing it more and more!

    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

