Book Related

Books I Read Based on Recommendation and Loved

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over on The Broke and the Bookish.

I love getting book recommendations. I probably don’t get through even a quarter of the ones that come up, but I have found some of my favourite books this way.I wouldn’t have found most of the books I read if not from recommendations from friends, family, and the book blogging community.

So here are some of the best books I’ve discovered through recommendations.

721931

This book came recommended by a teacher when I was eight years old, and I’ve never looked back. This series is honestly probably the reason that I still consider recommendations to be some of the best ways to find books.

18498558

This book came recommended from one of the staff at the Chapters closest to my place, and it is honestly one of the best books I’ve read this year. If you’re looking for a good, creepy book for Halloween, you should totally check this one out.

16034235

This series is so huge in the book blogging community that I basically consider it a recommendation from them. And it definitely lives up to the hype.

18770398

A friend lent me this book, saying that I had to read it, and it’s such an addictive book. One of the more interesting mysteries that I have come across, and definitely one of the better recommendations I’ve received.

40440

My mum was at me to read this book for years before I finally picked it up. And I am so glad I did, because it’s such a fantastic book. Mysteries, ghosts stories, and authors all wrapped up into one.

11235712

Another series that came out of the book blogging community, and that I absolutely adored. I’m a sucker for any fairy tale rewrite, and these take it to a whole other level with the science fiction aspect.

18373

This book was a recommendation from my eleventh grade English teacher, and it’s such a good story. It’s a scary looking picture of how we treat people who aren’t the average in society, and it makes for a great book.

17399160

This is another book that comes out of the book blogging community, and I absolutely adored it. I have the second one, but lent it to a friend while I read a few review copies. But I plan to read it as soon as I get it back.

12512617

The Hunger Games series was a recommendation from my librarian, way back when only the first book had been released. I enjoyed it so much that I also got all my friends hooked on it at the time.

What are some of the best recommendations you’ve recieved? Let me know in the comments below!

15 thoughts on “Books I Read Based on Recommendation and Loved

  1. I don’t people have recommended books to me often. I have been recommended to read Hunchback of Notre Dame because of my love for Les Misérables. Still not decided about that. Someone else recommended a fantasy book that I have not attempted yet, but have forgotten the title of it

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I read Percy Jackson. I started getting more involved in reading the old classics with Les Mis. That led to Tale of Two Cities to Don Quixote and over Christmas Break, will read over Great Expectations. The musical, Les Mis, convinced me to read the boom

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I should have put Harry Potter on my list! I read that years after practically everyone else, and only after almost everyone I know recommended it to me. It wasn’t that I wasn’t interested, just that seven books seemed like so many!

    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

