Reviews

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

20613470

This review is spoiler-free for Heir of Fire, but will contain spoilers for the previous books.

Song For This Book: Just Like Fire – Pink 
Why? This is a great theme song for Celaena after she finds her fire and kicks butt all over the place.

3/5

So here’s the thing: I think this series is awesome. There are so many good things happening, some of the more overused tropes are done fairly well, and I have had a blast reading it. But this book was a bit of a let down for the first 400 odd pages. And that’s a lot of book to get through before things start getting good. Which is likely why it took me two weeks to read this.

Every series has a transitional book. The crazy events that start the story start getting figured out, but the readers need more information and the characters need development time to get to the crazy events that finish up the story. And based on what I’ve heard about what comes next in this series, this is the book where readers get information and characters develop. While it is important that we have these things, it does make for a bit of a dull book, and that’s the case with Heir of Fire.

This book wasn’t terrible or bad or any other negative word like that. It was just kind of boring. There wasn’t a lot happening for a lot of the time, and it seemed like the same series of discussions happening over and over. It does pick up about 150 pages before the end, however, and leaves you desperate for the next book.

Let’s break this down a little more, shall we?

The Good Points of Heir of Fire:

I loved Celaena’s development through this. She’s got so much trauma and terrible things in her past, and you get to see her working through a lot of these things through this book. And it’s very satisfying when we finally get to her conclusion in this one.

The ending is pretty darn awesome. Things get crazy, and other thing explode, and we learn a whole lot of stuff about what’s been going down without us knowing. And it’s brilliant. The ending alone had me going to the bookstore the next day for a copy of Queen of Shadows.

The writing in this series continues to improve as each book progresses. Maas has a way with words that cannot be denied or ignored.

We are introduced to a few new characters in this seriers, and I immensely enjoyed each and every one of them. They add some new flavour to the series, and are very well developed from the get-go. I can’t wait to see how these folks play into the story later on.

The Downsides of Heir of Fire:

There are about 400 pages of not a whole lot happening in this book. It dragged so much, almost from the start of the book. And we were getting some important information about what else has been going on, it was way longer than it needed to be for the few things that took place.

What happened to our awesome characters from the previous books? While I liked Celaena in this one, Chaol and Dorian just got boring and predictable. Hell, even the King of Adarlan was kind of boring in this one, and he’s supposed to be the bad guy. Again, this picked up towards the end, but it was weird for a while.

The romance in this book felt off. I won’t say too much, because it would be super spoil-y, but it was not the hot, fun romance of the previous book. I want the hot, fun romance back!

Out of nowhere, and without real context, we get a good fifth of this book following a series of witches. Why? Where do they come in, and why should I care about them? I don’t know, because Maas never really told me. And I’m sure there’s a good reason for it, but it took a lot of self control not to just skip through them.

All in all, the book was fine, but definitely my least favourite of the series by far. Transition books are always a bit of a drag, but why did this one have to be so long? I’ve been told by many people that Queen of Shadows really picks up though, so I’m excited to get to that one, and see what sort of chaos Celaena’s going to cause next.

Have you read Heir of Fire? Did you find it dull, or did you really like it? Let me know in the comments!

10 thoughts on “Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I can’t say I agree with you about the book being boring but when I read it I had the same reaction to the Manon chapters and I actually didn’t like them. Now have read Queen of Shadows and some of the Empire of Storms I have to say it was worth reading those boring chapter considering the development of the character! I won’t spoiler but I just wanted to say it!!!
    It was a very good review even if don’t fully agree with you!!! ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I started reading it last March and haven’t finished it yet up until now. I had to put it down because as much as I love the first 2 books, this book just really bores me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

