Book Related

Books With The Best Villians

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over on The Broke and the Bookish.

This weeks theme is villians! Villians is a tricky topic, because you’re not really supposed to like villians. That’s kind of the point of them. But you can’t deny the allure of a well written villian, so let’s get to the list, shall we?

Thinking of books with good villians is also tricky because I apparently don’t read a lot of books with well defined villians. But I came up with a few.

2767052

I love Snow as a villian. He’s so amazingly terrible and sneaky, and it works so well in his favour. I also loved Coin and how manipulative she was with the whole end of the book.

18079527

Perhaps a strange choice to include on this list, but I think the bad guy in this book was so well done. It’s not often that we think of mental illness, such as PTSD as a villian, but I have met people who feel this way about their mental illness. It’s an interesting perspective, as someone who is of generally sound mind.

818056

Lord Voldemort. That is all.

17399160

I love Angra as a bad guy. There’s nothing particularly unique about him as an evil king, but I love him anyway.

22328546

I simultaniously love and hate Maven through both of these books. What a beautiful, manipulative jerk.

18007564

While there’s no official ‘villian’ in this book, I think that Mars is a pretty good antaognist. It makes Watley’s life pretty darn hard.

16034235

The King of Adarlan is a jerk. Celaena had better kick his butt by the end of this series.

23004848

Volto is my favourite kind of bad guy – he’s trying to do what he thinks is right. He just isn’t on the same page as most others in this book. Hendrick’s is a good bad guy as well, but it’s harder to see his side of things because he’s also a jerk.

17 thoughts on “Books With The Best Villians

  1. I love Maven SO MUCH. I maintain the book will be more interesting if he was the main love interest, just because Cal is so… overdone, in my opinion. 😛

    And mental illnesses definitely count as villains. We often hear people talk about “beating” depression, etc., so in a way they are definitely the villains in life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

