Book Related

September Wrap Up

Alright, so, I’m not entire sure what happened to September. I think we missed a few days or weeks in there somewhere, because I genuinely don’t know how it’s the end of September already.

There have been a lot of exciting things happening on the blogging front for me this month. I celebrated my six month anniversary of Songs Wrote My Story going live. I’ve set new records for daily views, likes, and comments. And most exciting of all, I hit 200 followers! So thank you all so much!

The Books

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas 4/5
Like everyone, I’m so totally hooked on this series. This one isn’t quite up to the calibre of Throne of Glass, but it was still a fun read. And it has a killer ended that has you going out immediately to get the next book.

Darktown by Thomas Mullen 3/5
While not the most original mystery novel out there (or I’ve just read way too many, one or the other), it’s a fascinating depiction of the race issues of the time, and how those affect how murder investigations needed to be addressed.

The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson 4.5/5
This book was amazing. I’m in love with this series. This one was particularly interesting because it plays so much on people’s motivation, how they handle things such as betrayal, and a fair bit of psychology. I can’t wait to get to the third book.

All The Missing Girls by Megan Miranda 2.5/5
I wanted to love this book so much, but there were so many issues. The whole telling the story backwards things was a great idea, but poorly executed. We were told instead of shown. The twists were fun, but because of other issues, they weren’t as effective as they could be.

Swarm by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan, Deborah Biancotti 4/5
I wasn’t totally sold on Zeroes, but Swarm was awesome. It was high action, great characters, and the idea of superheros that mess up is great. It was so much better than the first, and I highly recommend it.

The Quantum Door by Jonathan Ballagh 4/5
Science fiction and middle grade are two things that I’ve never really put together before, but this book does it in such a great way that I need more. This book is addictive, fast paced, and one of the better science fiction novels I’ve read, age range not withstanding.

Books I Acquired

Can we take a minute to talk about how good I did this month? There are only four books on this list!

Second-Hand Hardcopies
A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

Electronic Copies
New Dusk by Liberty Gilmore
Tompkin’s School: For the Extraordinarily Talented by Tabi Slick
Cardiac by Jeffrey Monaghan
All three books were provided by the authors in exchange for reviews. Keep an eye out for them!

The Posts

The Best TV Shows I’ve Seen To Date
Mathematical Justification for Buying Books
10 Favourite Fantasy Books & To Whom I Recommend Them
This or That Book Tag
10 Pop Songs That Ease The Transition Between Summer and Autumn Music
Six Lessons I’ve Learned in Six Months of Book Blogging
10 Books On My Fall TBR

What I’ve Been Listening To in September

Sit Still Look Pretty by Daya
Surrender by Cheap Trick
Youth by Troye Sivan
Dance Dance by Fall Out Boy

Plans for October

Okay, so because of back to school and being sick and working though some work stuff, I have fallen so behind on reading and writing posts. So things may be a little quieter around here as I catch up.

But I’ve got three books planned for this month:
Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas (half way through currently!)
The Mine by John A. Heldt
New Dusk by Liberty Gilmore

Some ideas I’ve got for posts this month include:
A discussion on self-care for book bloggers
A monthly music feature that I haven’t quite decided on yet
Books I’m Thankful For
Some sort of Halloween feature
Book Blogging As A Job

We’ll see what happens though. The craziness of September is winding down, so I will hopefully be able to get caught up a bit over the coming weeks.

What are your plans for October? Let me know in the comments below!

 

8 thoughts on “September Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

