Music Related

10 Pop Songs That Ease The Transition Between Summer and Autumn Music

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over on The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme is All About Audio. I’ve opted to do ten songs that I’ve been loving for the fact that it’s making the transition between the light, bouncy songs of summer and the more serious, slower songs of autumn.

#1 Youth by Troye Sivan
If I were still in university, I’m sure I would be hardcore partying to this song right now. Instead, I’m rocking out to it on the radio while I drive to work. It’s all good.

#2 Closer by The Chainsmokers ft. Halsey
If it were up to me, this would be the song of this summer. I’m still hanging onto it as the autumn approaches.

#3 We Don’t Talk Anymore by Charlie Puth ft. Selena Gomez
I was introduced to this song about a week ago by a couple of teens I teach, and I’ve been enjoying it so much. It’s a little less bouncy and light than some other songs on this list, making it feel more like falling leaves and sweater weather.

#4 Heathens by Twenty One Pilots
This would be a fun, bouncy song, but it’s played in a minor key and held back a bit. So it makes a great fall song.

#5 Sit Still Look Pretty by Daya
This has a light, fun beat, and it just a fun song to listen to. Maybe a bit more summery than autumn, but hey, we can just cut the fun pop cold turkey.

#6 Rise by Katy Perry, Covered by Superfruit, Mary Lambert, Brian Justin Crum, and Mario Jose
This song is heavy, but abolsutely beautiful. I had a friend who worked for a radio station, and said that slow, heavy songs don’t get released in summer because they won’t do well. Which means it’s the perfect time of year for something like this.

#7 The Currents by Bastille
This album just came out not too long ago, and I’m slowing falling in love with it. I couldn’t resist adding one of Bastille’s songs to this list.

#8 Autumn by Paolo Nutini
This is not as recent as the ones I’ve listed already, but it’s one of my favourite autumn themed songs. It’s gorgeous, and so much fun to sing.

#9 Cannonball by Damien Rice
This is another older song, but I always seem to come back to this one in the fall. I’m not sure what it is about it, but it just feels like chilly weather and changing leaves to me.

#10 Photograph by Ed Sheeran
Ed Sheeran writes music for this time of year, I swear.

Take a listen to some of those, and let me know what you think. Also, let me know what songs just scream autumn for you!

 

18 thoughts on “10 Pop Songs That Ease The Transition Between Summer and Autumn Music

  1. I love your choices! You’re completely correct in that there’s a transition between summer and autumn music. I was just telling my hubby that there weren’t many songs of summer that stood out to me this year. The Chainsmokers had a couple that would have made my list, too!
    My TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

