Reviews

All The Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

It’s been ten years since Nicolette Farrell left her rural hometown after her best friend, Corinne, disappeared from Cooley Ridge without a trace. Back again to tie up loose ends and care for her ailing father, Nic is soon plunged into a shocking drama that reawakens Corinne’s case and breaks open old wounds long since stitched.

The decade-old investigation focused on Nic, her brother Daniel, boyfriend Tyler, and Corinne’s boyfriend Jackson. Since then, only Nic has left Cooley Ridge. Daniel and his wife, Laura, are expecting a baby; Jackson works at the town bar; and Tyler is dating Annaleise Carter, Nic’s younger neighbor and the group’s alibi the night Corinne disappeared. Then, within days of Nic’s return, Annaleise goes missing.

Told backwards—Day 15 to Day 1—from the time Annaleise goes missing, Nic works to unravel the truth about her younger neighbor’s disappearance, revealing shocking truths about her friends, her family, and what really happened to Corinne that night ten years ago.

23212667

Song For This Book: Missing You by John Waite 
Why? I know this is more about love than about missing persons, but I thought that the mood and attitude matched how ambivalent Nic felt about Corrine looking back.

2.5/5

There’s a trend that we’ve been seeing with ‘Girl’ books, brought on by the popularity of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. And this is no exception, another author jumping on the bandwagon. This one comes with a gimmick though: it’s told backwards, starting at day 15 and working its way backwards to day 1.

I was not overly impressed with this book. It was fine, I stuck with it and was curious to see how it all came together, but it wasn’t as spectacular as I was hoping it would be. The story itself was great, and there were lots of great twists and turns that I enjoyed. But the writing, set up, and storytelling dragged it down quite a bit.

The Good Points of All The Missing Girls:

I was pleasantly surprised with how the plot twisted and turned around. I didn’t expect a lot of the things that happened. The plot and history was clearly well thought out and the reveal of different plot points was timed well enough to keep you interested.

I liked the idea of telling the story backwards. It was a really great gimmick to set this book apart from the other ‘girl’ books that have come out recently.

I enjoyed the characters thought this book. They felt real, and it was easy to see where they were coming from in their reactions to how things were happening. They seemed like they could be your neighbour or your high school boyfriend or that kid you knew but never that well.

The Downsides of All the Missing Girls:

So much telling! The author doesn’t show us a lot in this book, but instead has the main character tell us almost everything. I think the book would have been more exciting if Miranda had just shown us.

I love the idea of the backwards gimmick, but I don’t think it was pulled off well. The author spent too much time skirting around different things until it was the right time to reveal them that it honestly made it hard to keep track of what was happening.

There were quite a few ‘days’ that just dragged. We didn’t have enough information to understand what was happening, and nothing was really happening. It made the book feel off-kilter when you got to a fast-paced ‘day’.

All in all, I was disappointed in this book. The story itself was great, but the author just didn’t pull off the gimmick as well as I had hoped. I am curious to go back and see if this book holds up or is better when you read it backwards, so I’m hanging onto it a while longer.

Have you read All The Missing Girls? Let me know if you agree or disagree with me below!

7 thoughts on “All The Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

  1. Sorry you didn’t enjoy this one. I’m one of the glowing reviews but I certainly can understand when someone doesn’t feel the same since I’m usually the one wondering why so many love a certain book. LOL

    Like

  2. Glad to find someone else who didn’t like it much too. It didn’t work out for me and the backwards narration style ruined the suspense and everything else. I just didn’t quite enjoy this book despite all the rave reviews

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

