Book Related

10 Favourite Fantasy Books & To Whom I Recommend Them

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted over on The Broke and The Bookish.

This week’s theme is your favourite books from a particular genre. Picking my favourite books in any genre is difficult, because there are so many good books out there. So I’ve opted to go with fantasy, because I was able to make the biggest list in my head for that one.

Most of these will probably be YA books, because I think YA has got fantasy figured out. I find that I run into issues with what the authors place importance on in adult fantasy, where as there is more creativity with books geared towards younger readers. But we’ll see how the list comes together.

16429619

I still have to read the third book in this series, but I loved the first two. This is a great ‘intro to fantasy’ story, because while it is set in its own world, that world is relatively simple, and the magic is kept to a minimum. If you’re not sure how you feel about fantasy, maybe start with this one.

11127

The Chronicles of Narnia is a classic, and a series I think every kid should be required to read. This falls into my ‘safe fantasy’ category, because it does have a Christian basis. So if you’d like to get into fantasy, but your faith makes you hesitant, this is where to start.

28187

A classic one, right? Another series I have yet to finish, but a great one nonetheless. This series is a fun play on Greek myths, and does not disappoint when it comes to action and adventure. A great book for late elementary kids. If you think fart jokes are inappropriate or rude, though, maybe stay away from this series.

16034235

This is probably one of the biggest series in the book blogging world if my feed is anything to go by, so it’s probably no surprise that it’s made this list. The love triangle kind of sucks, but at least there is a lot of importance placed on butt-kicking and figuring out mysteries. A great book if you’re into strong female characters and magic, but not want the story to require a lot of thought. Though the first book is pretty clear, maybe keep it 15+ for the later ones.

617810

This was one of my favourite books in high school, and still holds up well. Set in it’s own world, a lot of the magic in this book comes from prophecy and seer-like characters. This is a great book for middle-grade kids, and is another great intro to fantasy book.

17399160

Yet another series I haven’t caught up on. This book is fantastic, though. It’s got lots going on, the love triangle is fairly minimal, and the world building is great. This may not be the best book for you if you’re to fantasy though. A great one if you like great good vs. evil battles though, and if you like twists and turns.

721931

This one was bound to show up eventually right? I don’t think I even need to comment on it. The first four books are great for middle school kids, where the later ones might be best saved for teens, because they do get a little heavy.

15783514

This book is a little slow to get going, but it’s one of my favourites. Definitely my favourite as far as adult fantasy goes. It’s a crazy story, with lots of great characters and interesting things happen. I really need to read this one again. Neil Gaiman is kind of his own thing in the fantasy genre, so I just recommend everyone read this and see what you think for yourself.

9361589

Love story wise, this book misses the mark. But if you’re like me, you might be cool with that. This book is incredible though. If you like great world building, this book is for you.

183656

Last but not least, my favourite book from elementary school. This book is fun and light, and is a great depiction of how someone can overcome their fears when it comes to the people that they love. I recommend this book to everyone.

23 thoughts on “10 Favourite Fantasy Books & To Whom I Recommend Them

    1. I haven’t read the Crown’s Game yet, so I can’t compare those. I didn’t like how the romance ending up when the book finished – it seemed like it was designed to please rather than tell a good story. If that makes sense without giving away the ending.

      Like

Leave a Reply

