Book Related

August Wrap Up

The end of the month is upon us, which means that it is time for my August Wrap Up!

I always find it harder to read and get things done in the summer. My schedule gets all thrown off, I’m busy with summertime adventures, and I don’t read nearly as much as I would want to. However, I did get five reviews up this month, and read two more that you’ll see reviews for in the next week or so.

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik Backman 4/5
This book was really great. It’s a sweet story about a little girl who loses her grandmother, and ends up on a treasure hunt that introduces her to another side of the people who live in her apartment building. Highly recommend it.

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson 4.5/5
Honestly, I picked up this book because the main character shares her name with a character I write. But it turned out to be a great story, and I’m so hooked now. I’m just starting the second one now.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by Jack Thorne et al. (Spoiler-free) 5/5
I got to go back to Hogwarts, and it was amazing.
I also did a spoiler filled discussion, which you can find here.

Zeroes by Westerfield, Lanagan, & Biancotti 3/5
This review was done from a reread, but I enjoyed it. It’s a fun change from the usual tropes that you find in young adult fiction, and super powers are always fun.

The Light Between Oceans by M. L Stedman 4/5
I read this as part of a read along hosted by Simon & Schuster Canada. I didn’t think I was going to enjoy it, but it was a good read. It did make me majorly homesick for the ocean though.

Books I Acquired 

I did really good this month, and didn’t buy that many books! The Harry Potter ones were all preordered in July, and mostly of the rest came from publishers.

Purchased:
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by Jack Thorne
Harry Potter Boxset (I had a copy of all the books, but they were falling apart, so I got the pretty boxset to replace them)
Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas
The Ice Twins by S.K. Tremayne

Second Hand:
Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

For Review:
Darktown by Thomas Mullen
Swarm by Westerfield, Lanagan, & Biancotti
Scythe by Neil Schusterman
On Trails: An Exploration by Robert Moor
Thanks to Simon & Schuster Canada for all four of these books!

The Quantum Door by Jonathan Ballagh & Ben J. Adams
The Mine by John A. Heldt
Thanks to the individual authors for these books!

Other Bookish Things from August

Books I Would Buy Right Now If Someone Handed Me A Gift Card
Book Blogging Confessions
Great Books Set In Their Own Original World
Books That Have Been On My Shelf Since Before I Started Blogging

The Light Between Oceans Read-Along: Chapters 21-25
The Light Between Oceans Read-Along: Chapters 25-30
The Light Between Oceans Read-Along: Ch. 31 to End

Musical Things from August

Crystallize by Lindsey Stirling
L.E.J.’s Summer 2016
Fake It by Bastille
Closer by The Chainsmokers

Plans for September

I have reviews written and scheduled for Darktown by Thomas Mullen and Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas, so keep an eye out for those in the next week or so. There will also be a review for Swarm late in September, though I haven’t read that one yet. Soon, though!

Otherwise, I have no major plans for what I will read this month. A colleague of mine and I are talking about starting a book club, which may affect what I end up choosing coming up. We’ll see how things go.

What books are you planning to read next month? Let me know in the comments below!

 

12 thoughts on “August Wrap Up

  1. Great reading month! I had a couple issues with The Cursed Child, but overall it was such a magical reading experience. I really want to read The Light Between Oceans. It’s a bit intimidating, but what I’ve seen it sounds so good! Kiss of Deception and Zeroes are both on my TBR too. It’s good to see you enjoyed them all!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. After not reading much for such a long time, (been focused on writing and work got busy, ugh) I actually read almost 4 books this month! I finished the Captive Prince Trilogy by C.S. Pacat in 4 days, and almost finished City Of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare.

    This month I want to finish the Mortal Instrument series and read The Infernal Devices and Lady Midnight. September Goals! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

