Book Related

Books That Have Been On My Shelf Since Before I Started Blogging

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s theme is books that have been on your shelf/TBR since before you started blogging. If I were to choose the TBR version, this list would be a mile long, because I’ve been adding books to Goodreads and to my paper list forever. So I’m opting to make this list based just on the books that I’ve got on my shelf/e-reader that are waiting to be read.

I’ve only started blogging in March, but because of moving a lot, I also only started buying books around Christmas. I probably have a bunch of books at my parent’s house, but that’s the other side of the country, and I haven’t seen them in years. So this could be interesting.

25810037

I picked up this book on mega sale back in January, and still haven’t gotten around to it. It still looks interesting, and I still really want to read it, I just haven’t picked it up yet. I keep meaning to, but other books keep getting in the way.

20821111

I’ve had a copy of this on my e-reader for ages, originally downloaded for a car trip, but never gotten around to it. No particular reason, it is just never what I’m wanting to pick up when it comes time to choose a new book. Eventually, I’ll get around to it.

227711

This book first caught my eye when I was in high school, and I’ve wanted to read it since. There’s a copy sitting on my shelf, but I have not picked it up, despite the years it has been there. I’m starting to wonder if I will eve read it, or if it will haunt my shelf for the rest of eternity.

18712887

I got a copy of this book as a Christmas gift this past year, and I still haven’t picked it up. Perhaps it’s because I got the massive hardcover edition and it looks far more daunting than the nice, little paperback book. Someday I’ll get to it.

25573701

I downloaded an ebook of this as soon as it came out, because I loved the series when I was in junior high. I don’t know why, but I still haven’t picked this up. Maybe because I liked the ending to the series way back in the day, I don’t know.

19288043

I got this book because the movie caught my attention and I wanted to read the book before I watched the film. So I picked up a second hand copy and meant to start it… Then I got a bunch of other books, and it got buried, and I totally forgot about it until I went to look at my shelf so I could make this list. Maybe I’ll pick it up next.

9460487

I actually read this book already, while down with the flu when I was in university. But as a result of the medications I was taking, the lack of sleep, and being buried in the university life, I can’t even remember what happened beyond the first couple of chapters. So I need to reread this, obviously.

2153405

My mom gave me a copy of this book when I was in university, and I’ve been carrying it around with me since. I will read it eventually, I swear.

25614492

I have an electronic copy of this one, but I have been putting it off because I am much more interested in reading a hard copy. A dumb reason, I know. But it’s just got such a pretty cover, and I have myself convinced I’ll enjoy it more if I read it in a hardcopy.

13 thoughts on “Books That Have Been On My Shelf Since Before I Started Blogging

  1. To be brutally honest, if you see the Miss Peregrine movie before reading the book, I wouldn’t bother going back to finish it. It was ambitious, but I was disappointed to find it wasn’t well written enough to achieve its vision. On the other hand, Gone Girl was a stimulating read even after seeing the movie.

    Here’s my TTT: https://paigehadleywriter.com/2016/08/23/top-10-books-sitting-on-my-shelf-that-i-still-havent-read/

    Like

  2. I’ve been meaning to read something by Ruta Sepetys for a loooooong time as well (though at this point her books have migrated to my “maybe” shelf, which is where TBR books go to never be read… whoops).

    Great list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We have some of the same books on our shelves. I’ve owned The Young Elites and Mrs. Peregrine’s for way too long without reading them. I think I held off because I wasn’t ready to dive into a series. I guess I should wait to go see the movie until I read the book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

