Reviews

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.


16429619

4.5/5

Song For This Book: Two Stones – Daniel Bryant

Not going to lie, I bought this book because the main character’s name was Lia, and I also write a character with that name. The premise sounded interesting enough, but I mostly wanted it to see if this Lia was like my Lia. She’s not, incase you were wondering.

This book had been sitting on my shelf for months before I got around to it. I’d picked it up at a used book store on a whim one day, and then never got around to it. But when I finished my most recent read, I was reading the synopsis’ of a few books and this one just seemed to be exactly what I wanted right now. And it was definitely a good choice.

This book follows three major characters. Lia is our princess who has run away from an arranged marriage she never wanted to be a part of and is hiding in a small, waterfront village with her friend Pauline. Our assassin was from another kingdom hired to kill Lia to prevent any future relationship between her homeland and her betrothed’s homeland. Our prince is the jilted other party from the arranged marriage, curious to see who he had lost when the princess fled. Of course, it’s not quite as simple as that, though.

This book is insanely addictive. It’s going to get you hooked in from the get go, leave you wondering about everything, and then the book ends in such a way that you want to go out and get the next one immediately. It’s well written, the characters are fantastic, and the mysteries and secrets are to die for.

The Good Points of The Kiss of Deception:

I thought the world building was well done. We aren’t given a lot, but the details come out when they need to. I was never left feeling like there was something missing from the world.

We are told that there is an assassin and a prince, and that there is Kaden and Rafe, but we don’t know which name matches which person for the longest time. This made for a really fun mystery, because I honesty couldn’t figure this out for the longest time. And I was wrong, of course. But I loved this. More books need to do this.

I love all of the characters in this book. I thought they were well developed, and that they were very realistic. This is best showcased with trying to figure out the prince and the assassin, because these two characters are more than just their job positions. They have good moments and bad moments, and are well rounded.

I love how connections appear in this one. I won’t say too much for fear of revealing any spoilers, but people come back and events come back to be connected to the people Lia is currently dealing with. Sometimes that is super cheesy, but it worked for this book.

There are a few other things I really enjoyed about this book, but they all reveal a bit too much to include them and keep this review spoiler-free. So you’ll just have to trust that there are good plot things as well.

The Downsides of The Kiss of Deception:

The dreaded love triangle! While it wasn’t the worst one I’ve come across, it definitely wasn’t the best.

This book changes point of view a lot. I debated a lot about putting this on the downsides list, but I did find it annoying, so I opted to include it. It worked really well for the prince/assassin mystery, but I found that it interrupted the flow a bit, and didn’t add a ton to the story.

All in all, I really enjoyed this book. I just picked up a copy of the second one, and I can’t wait to check it out.

Have you read this one? Did you have the prince and the assassin figured out correct?

9 thoughts on “The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

  1. #coverlove, right? I think this cover is what really drew me again and again to this book at the library…I had no prior knowledge about it going in, and I finally said to myself, “That cover is too beautiful to house anything less than fabulous.” It might be one of my all-time favorites.
    Didn’t you love it? Didn’t you?? I knew you would! And the shock of learning identities…I know Pearson did that on purpose!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I usually don’t like having people on book covers, but this one just worked so, so well. I absolutely love it.
      I did love it, actually! And I loved the mystery of the identities – more books need to do this, because it was so fun! I can’t wait to read the next one.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

