Book Related

Books I Would Buy Right Now If Someone Handed Me A Gift Card

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created by the Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is books you would buy right now if someone handed you a fully loaded gift card. Now, isn’t that a dream come true?

You’re standing in your favourite bookstore, when someone walks up to you and says, ‘Hey! I saw your book blog online the other day, and I love your reviews! Here’s a gift card to help add to your collection.” You pick yourself up off the floor, where you fell in complete shock, and realize that there’s more than enough money to buy ten books you’ve been dreaming of. So you gather all the books, hand over your gift card, and ride off into the sunset with your new collection.

Okay, so maybe not likely, but one can dream. If I did happen to find myself in that situation (or if I finally won the shopping spree that Chapters/Indigo gives out to people who do their survey.. which I have been filling out religiously since I was fourteen), these are the books I would definitely get:

21569527

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save Lia’s life, her erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar’s interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: There’s Rafe, who lied to Lia but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be savages. Now that she lives among them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country… and her own destiny.

I AM NOT READING THAT SYNOPSIS BECAUSE I AM NOT DONE OF THE FIRST AND I DON’T WANT TO RUIN IT. But I’m absolutely loving the first, so I would definitely grab this one.

25944798

Lia and Rafe have escaped Venda and the path before them is winding and dangerous – what will happen now? This third and final book in The Remnant Chronicles is not to be missed.

See above. This one is actually in the bookstore near me already, but 1)I haven’t read the second yet, and 2)I have a thing against hardcovers if I have the choice. So I gotta wait.

22698053

At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots – neighbours who can’t reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the viciouscoup d’etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents’ Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.

But isn’t it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?

In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible…

I read another of Backman’s books recently, and I absolutely adored it, and it’s made me curious to give this one a try as well. It doesn’t catch my interest quite as much, but if the writing is at all the same, I’m sure it will be great.

25614492

Winter, 1945. Four teenagers. Four secrets.

Each one born of a different homeland; each one hunted, and haunted, by tragedy, lies…and war.

As thousands of desperate refugees flock to the coast in the midst of a Soviet advance, four paths converge, vying for passage aboard the Wilhelm Gustloff, a ship that promises safety and freedom.

Yet not all promises can be kept.

I’ve wanted to read this book for so long, but the hardcover issues keeps coming back around. If I had a gift card though, I would just buy it, and deal with it being a hardcover.

18079527

For the past five years, Hayley Kincain and her father, Andy, have been on the road, never staying long in one place as he struggles to escape the demons that have tortured him since his return from Iraq. Now they are back in the town where he grew up so Hayley can attend school. Perhaps, for the first time, Hayley can have a normal life, put aside her own painful memories, even have a relationship with Finn, the hot guy who obviously likes her but is hiding secrets of his own.

Will being back home help Andy’s PTSD, or will his terrible memories drag him to the edge of hell, and drugs push him over? The Impossible Knife of Memory is Laurie Halse Anderson at her finest: compelling, surprising, and impossible to put down.

I read this book when I first came out and I loved it, but never got a hardcopy (I have the electronic version). I’d love to add it to my collection, though.

17404295

It’s been three months since the Winterians were freed and Spring’s king, Angra, disappeared—thanks largely to the help of Cordell.

Meira just wants her people to be safe. When Cordellan debt forces the Winterians to dig their mines for payment, they unearth something powerful and possibly dangerous: Primoria’s lost chasm of magic. Theron sees this find as an opportunity—with this much magic, the world can finally stand against threats like Angra. But Meira fears the danger the chasm poses—the last time the world had access to so much magic, it spawned the Decay. So when the king of Cordell orders the two on a mission across the kingdoms of Primoria to discover the chasm’s secrets, Meira plans to use the trip to garner support to keep the chasm shut and Winter safe—even if it means clashing with Theron. But can she do so without endangering the people she loves?

Mather just wants to be free. The horrors inflicted on the Winterians hang fresh and raw in Januari—leaving Winter vulnerable to Cordell’s growing oppression. When Meira leaves to search for allies, he decides to take Winter’s security into his own hands. Can he rebuild his broken kingdom and protect them from new threats?

As the web of power and deception weaves tighter, Theron fights for magic, Mather fights for freedom—and Meira starts to wonder if she should be fighting not just for Winter, but for the world.

I read the first book in this series and really enjoyed it, but haven’t gotten around to getting my hands on a copy of the sequel. It’s also not out in paperback here yet, so that’s put me off getting it for the time being.

25689074

The Little Android: A retelling of Hans Christian Andersen’s “The Little Mermaid,” set in the world of The Lunar Chronicles.
Glitches: In this prequel to Cinder, we see the results of the plague play out, and the emotional toll it takes on Cinder. Something that may, or may not, be a glitch….
The Queen’s Army: In this prequel to Scarlet, we’re introduced to the army Queen Levana is building, and one soldier in particular who will do anything to keep from becoming the monster they want him to be.
Carswell’s Guide to Being Lucky: Thirteen-year-old Carswell Thorne has big plans involving a Rampion spaceship and a no-return trip out of Los Angeles.
The Keeper: A prequel to the Lunar Chronicles, showing a young Scarlet and how Princess Selene came into the care of Michelle Benoit.
After Sunshine Passes By: In this prequel to Cress, we see how a nine-year-old Cress ended up alone on a satellite, spying on Earth for Luna.
The Princess and the Guard: In this prequel to Winter, we see a game called The Princess
The Mechanic: In this prequel to Cinder, we see Kai and Cinder’s first meeting from Kai’s perspective.
Something Old, Something New: In this epilogue to Winter, friends gather for the wedding of the century…

I finished the Lunar Chronicles a while back, but haven’t gotten around to picking this one up yet. If I had a gift card, I would definitely grab it.

17212231

In the heart of Italy, Harvard professor of symbology Robert Langdon is drawn into a harrowing world centered on one of history’s most enduring and mysterious literary masterpieces . . . Dante’s Inferno.

Against this backdrop, Langdon battles a chilling adversary and grapples with an ingenious riddle that pulls him into a landscape of classic art, secret passageways, and futuristic science. Drawing from Dante’s dark epic poem, Langdon races to find answers and decide whom to trust . . . before the world is irrevocably altered.

I’ve read a couple of the previous books in this series, and really enjoyed them. I was in school at the time, and would probably find them better now that I’m a bit older. I saw the trailer for the movie recently, and it looks great, so I want to read this before the film comes out.

24807186

The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule. To commemorate their Great Victory, Hitler and Emperor Hirohito host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their conjoined continents. The victor is awarded an audience with the highly reclusive Adolf Hitler at the Victor’s Ball in Tokyo.

Yael, a former death camp prisoner, has witnessed too much suffering, and the five wolves tattooed on her arm are a constant reminder of the loved ones she lost. The resistance has given Yael one goal: Win the race and kill Hitler. A survivor of painful human experimentation, Yael has the power to skinshift and must complete her mission by impersonating last year’s only female racer, Adele Wolfe. This deception becomes more difficult when Felix, Adele twin’s brother, and Luka, her former love interest, enter the race and watch Yael’s every move.

But as Yael grows closer to the other competitors, can she bring herself to be as ruthless as she needs to be to avoid discovery and complete her mission?

This book caught my attention a while back, but I still haven’t gotten around to getting a copy. I have a thing for WW2 stories, and this one looks particularly interesting.

I would also take the opportunity to stock up on some music therapy books, if I had a fully loaded gift card. These books are generally full of helpful information, but can run $50-$150, which is rough. So these would probably be my first stop, in all honesty.

15 thoughts on “Books I Would Buy Right Now If Someone Handed Me A Gift Card

  1. Everyone is talking about love Wolf by Wolf. I’m getting the impression I need to add it to my TBR list. Also, my best friend has finally convinced me to read Cinder. I’m terrible with series, so I’m hoping I will enjoy it as a stand along (unless I love it so much I can’t live without finding out what happens next). Do you think it will work as a stand alone?

    Here’s my TTT: https://paigehadleywriter.com/2016/08/02/top-10-books-id-buy-right-now-if-i-had-a-gift-card/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t wait to read The Beauty of Darkness…I’m 3rd on the list to read it! I’m waiting patiently and will not read any reviews until I read it!
    I want to do this tag…I’m going to remember it! Nice book choice!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

