Book Related

July Wrap Up

Holy macaroni, where did July go?

It seems like this whole month has just flown by in a mess of work and books and thunderstorms. When I think back, it seems like it’s been July forever, but now that the end is dawning on us, it doesn’t seem so long.

But let’s get to the wrap up, shall we? I can go on about how times goes to quickly all day long.

Books I Read

I probably would have read a lot more if I didn’t decide to tackle three rather dense books. But they were all good, so I can’t complain too much.

To All The Boys I Loved Before by Jenny Han 3.5/5
This book was fine, but I don’t quite get all of the hype for it. Lara Jean came across as childish, and there wasn’t a whole lot to the story. I did enjoy it, and it’s a nice, light read.

All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr 4/5
This is a beautiful book, and I really enjoyed it. That being said, it can drag at times, and it’s hard to sit with this one for a long period, just because of the subject matter. I highly recommend this one, though.

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han 2/5
I had hopes for this one, because I did enjoy the first. But there was nothing to this book. It was a series of events rather than a plot, and Lara Jean drove me crazy. I don’t know if I’ll bother with the third book when it comes out.

Black and Blue (Inspector Rebus #8) by Ian Rankin 2.5/5
My friend adores these books, and has been at me to read one for a while. The mystery of Black and Blue was fascinating, and so were the characters, but it could have been half the length, and the pacing was a mess.

The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan 4/5
Take out all the unnecessary, inappropriate humour, and this book would have been a 5/5. It’s so much fun, and so fast paced, and I had a blast reading it.

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises 4.5/5 (review will be up Monday, I’ll link it then!)
This is one of the better books I’ve read this year. It’s sweet, and filled with fairy tales, and is one of the best portrayals of grief and children that I’ve come across. Highly recommend it.

The Light Between Oceans Read Along

Since the beginning of the month, I’ve also been participating in a read along on Goodreads of the Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman. It’s been a blast so far, even if I’m current so annoyed with the main characters. Check out the following links for my thoughts, chapter by chapter.

The Light Between Oceans Read-Along: Preface-Ch.5
The Light Between Oceans Read Along: Chapter 6-10
The Light Between Oceans Read-Along: Chapters 11-15
The Light Between Oceans Read-Along: Chapters 16-20

Books I Acquired in July

I did better this month! I didn’t pick up nearly as many books, mostly through not going to nearly as many bookstores. It’s one of those work-in-progress sorts of things.

E-Copies
The Ice Twins by S.K. Tremayne

Hard Copies
This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
All The Missing Girls by Megan Miranda
The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer
The School of Good and Evil by Soman Chainani
Harry Potter et le prisonnier d’azkaban par J.K. Rowling
My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises by Frederik Backman

I also have a copy of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child on its way! I opted for the best deal I could find, so I have to wait for it to come in the mail.

Bookish Posts from July

What To Do While Waiting for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Ten Bookish Facts About Yours Truly
10 Books Set Outside The USA
Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do

Saturday Songs

Can’t Stop The Feeling
Confession 
Take Me Home
If You Could Read My Mind

Plans For August

I’m not making any!

Mostly because I absolutely suck at stick to them, unless I’m on some sort of deadline and absolutely need to read a book by a certain time. I’m currently reading The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson, so finishing that is the only plan I have.

How was your July, and what are your plans for August? Let me know below!

 

16 thoughts on “July Wrap Up

  1. I agree with what you said about Jenny Han’s books! I enjoyed the first one but I also thought that there wasn’t a whole lot to it (although I love the pretend relationships trope so that book was just cute to me), and the second one is a bit unnecessary. 😛

    Hope you like This Savage Song! I don’t think it’s Schwab’s best, but her world-building is still really good.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The pretend relationship trope is always fun, even if the book isn’t fantastic. The second book just seemed like an afterthought, though.

      Thanks! You’ve got me curious about the world building now… I may need to move that up my to-read list…

      Like

  2. What a haul for July! Wow!!
    I know what you have planned for August: getting sucked into Pearson’s series! Because it will happen. Yesterday, the last book became available to place on hold, but there were still 4 people ahead of me. I just hope they read it fast.
    I think you’ll love Kiss of Deception. I did. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m already sucked into it haha. I’m about half way through now and just realized that I’m not supposed to know which is Kaden and Which is Rafe. It’s making me just want to get through it and figure it all out! I may be going out on Tuesday to pick up the paperback of the second book…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know! I totally thought I had it figured out…but the book does it on purpose, so when I found out, I had to go back and go, “Ohhhhh…”
        It’s a really crazy way to get your attention. At least you realized that you’re not supposed to know. I totally thought it was supposed to be obvious…so I was blindsided.
        I do hope you like it, and the next book gets even better!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. So my assumptions of which ones which is probably wrong? Hm…
        I may have tried to look it up (I could find it when I looked back, so I went to the internet), thankfully coming across that fact before I came across the answer to my question.
        It’s so good so far, I can’t wait to see how this first one ends, and to get my hands on the next!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yeah, I totally thought that they made it seem like one was the Assassin and one was the prince, and then they flipped the script!
        I bet you assumed the same people that I did…I think it’s written that way to make us think one is what they aren’t….purposely misleading us.
        I don’t know how far you are…but once you’re done, tell me if you were right in who you though each was. I was wrong. But I think anyone would have assumed how I did.
        This probably sounds weird because I’m trying to not give anything away. We’ll just talk when you finish!

        Like

Leave a Reply

