Reviews

The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

The heroic son of Poseidon makes an action-packed comeback in the second must-read installment of Rick Riordan’s amazing young readers series. Starring Percy Jackson, a “half blood” whose mother is human and whose father is the God of the Sea, Riordan’s series combines cliffhanger adventure and Greek mythology lessons that results in true page-turners that get better with each installment. In this episode, The Sea of Monsters, Percy sets out to retrieve the Golden Fleece before his summer camp is destroyed, surpassing the first book’s drama and setting the stage for more thrills to come.


Song For This Book: My Bonnie Lies Over The Ocean

4/5

I had wanted to read this book so much sooner, since I had really enjoyed the first book, but it took me forever to find a copy of it. Part of this was my stubbornness in wanting a second hand copy that had a cover that matched my first book. Part of it was the fact that it was surprisingly difficult to find a copy of it. But I did, and I was glad to be back in the Percy Jackson world.

Once again, Riordan gave us a fun world with lots of adventure and excitement. Once I got going with this book, I will admit that it was hard to set it down, so I blasted through this one in two days. I liked the new characters and themes that were introduced, and loved how Riordan left us with a cliff hanger at the end. It’s been a while since I’ve read a book that left me that desperate to read the next in the series.

I actually think that I may have liked this book a bit more than the last. It was a bit faster paced, and some of my issues in the previous book, while still present, were less obvious.

The Good Points of The Sea of Monsters:

I loved the family theme in this book. I think we underrate the importance of family at times in middle grade and YA books, so I liked that siblings were a focus in this story. Percy learning how to deal with his new found brother was really great, and a good portrayal of the whole thing.

The way that different aspects of The Odyssey were incorporated into this book was fantastic. The monsters were modernized in a fun way, and the fact that what took place in that story made for important points in this one was really fun.

I am really enjoying how Percy and Annabeth’s relationship is developing. It’s fun and sweet, and feels totally natural, despite the fact they are anything but.

This book really sets up for future parts of the story, and made me want to continue on as soon as I set the book down. There’s a bit of foreshadowing (very obvious stuff, but still), and lots of hints at what might be to come, and I am so excited to continue reading.

The Downsides of The Sea of Monsters:

This was my main complaint in the last book, and is in this one as well: the inappropriate humour is unnecessary. I know that’s how kid’s Percy’s age tend to joke around, and it’s super common in North America, but we don’t need that in books. If you can’t make a joke that doesn’t involve toilet humour, just don’t make the joke.

I found this was a little more dramatic than it needed to be. Percy’s in mortal peril a lot in this book, and it got a little repetitive towards the end. Something where he was just in a little peril would have been a nice change.

All in all, I did really enjoy this book, and I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the series. I’ve already got the third and fourth books on my shelf, and am just getting through a couple of others before I start in on them.

Have you read The Sea of Monsters? Let me know what you thought!

3 thoughts on “The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

