Music Related

Saturday Song: If You Could Read My Mind

Happy Saturday!

I’m writing this post in advance, because when you are reading this, I will be trying to survive a 53km bike ride through the Alberta badlands! So if you don’t hear from me for a while after this, it’s because my legs fell off and I had to roll all the way back home.

But let’s get to the song, shall we?

If You Could Read My Mind by Gordon Lightfoot

This is one of my all time favourite songs, both to listen to and to sing. I will honestly take any excuse to sing this one when I’m working. It’s a gorgeous piece of music with haunting melodies, simple but effective accompaniment, and a whole lot of feels. It’s not the happiest song in the world, but rather leaves you feeling contemplative and maybe the tiniest bit heartbroken.

But the best part of this song is the lyrics. This is a song for every single book- or word-lover out there. It’s filled with wonderful metaphors, and beautiful images, and fantastic descriptions. Trust me, guys. You’re going to like this one.

Take a listen and let me know what you think in the comments below!

One thought on “Saturday Song: If You Could Read My Mind

Leave a Reply

