Reviews

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.

She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.

When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?


Song For This Book: Fly Me To The Moon by Frank Sinatra

2/5

Maybe I should have expected being a bit disappointed in this book, because I wasn’t overly pleased with the first. But I had high hopes anyway. The reviews online are generally positive, and the rating on Goodreads is great, so I thought that maybe it would be better than the first, and that it would make up for any shortcomings that the series had so far.

But it didn’t. The book was fine, don’t get me wrong. It’s easy to read, and lighthearted enough, but there’s nothing special about it. There’s nothing that makes it stand out against the plethora of other young adult contemporary romances out there. There were a few opportunities to make it really stand out, but every one of them were passed up for something that was a bit more comfortable.

I will say that this book does excel in one area, as did the last one. The way that family is integrated into the story, and how important those relationships are is done so incredibly well. For how often we see absentee families in young adult books, it is a breath of fresh air to come across one where family is at the centre of the story. So major kudos to Jenny Han on that.

The Good Points of P.S. I Still Love You:

As I’ve mentioned, I absolutely adore the use of family for the plot line. Especially Kitty – she’s the highlight of this series by far.

I really enjoyed the use of generations and how those dynamics were played in this book. We see Lara Jean and Kitty and the rest of the crew representing the younger generation, while we get some of her father’s story filling out the middle, and the scenes in the nursing home covering the grandparents. None of these are shown as more important or influential than the others, but rather point out some pros and cons to being all these ages. It also created some fun dynamics between the characters.

The Downsides of P.S. I Still Love You:

The characters in this book are supposed to be in high school, but they act like they’re in junior high. Take the mentions of sex out, and this could be a middle grade novel, to be honest. I couldn’t get any of the romance, because it was just so silly feeling.

With the exception of Kitty and Stormy, I felt that the characters became more one-dimensional in this book, compared to the first. Everyone had one or two traits that defined their entire existence, and they weren’t anything more than that. I didn’t know it was possible for characterization to go downhill in a second book.

There is very little plot in this book. There’s just events that happen and people reacting to them. Nothing really builds off of anything else, it just is what it is. Looking back now, I couldn’t tell you when most events happened in comparison to other events.

There were so many opportunities to make this book feel more real and make the characters develop more, and not one of them was taken. I won’t say too much on this, because I don’t want to give away spoilers, but there were chances that Han could have used enhance the characters or the storyline, and every one was ignored.

All in all, I’m disappointed in this book. But you can’t like everything, right? I may still pick up the third book when it’s released, but we’ll have to see when the time comes. I’m a big believer in the middle-book slump, so maybe that’s all that this is, and the third one will come out and blow my mind.

Have you read P.S. I Still Love You? What did you think of it?

5 thoughts on “P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

  1. Hi I love your reviews. I’ve only started reviewing, could you give my blog a look? Any advice and feedback would be great.
    P.s I just ordered this book and the first one because of your review😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

