Book Related

June Wrap Up and July Plans

Where did June go?

Really though. I feel like this whole month just flew by without my noticing. But that means that school year programs are finishing up and summer ones are starting. We can run around in shorts or skirts and have a drink on a patio or go for ice cream and all those other fun things that feel so summery.

I would like to throw out a huge thank you to everyone who reads or follows this blog. I hit and surpassed 100 followers this month, and it seems to grow every week. I am so grateful to all of you, and have loved getting to chat with you and check out what you write as well (I’m also sorry for slacking on following people this month. Other things got in the way, but I’m planning to get back to this in July).

The end of June also means that it’s time for my June Wrap Up! So here goes nothing!

Books I Read

I didn’t read quite as many books this month as I have in previous ones. This is partially because I spent three weeks this month fighting off colds and stomach bugs, and partially because I tackled a couple of denser volumes that took longer to get through.

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan 4/5
I am so glad that I finally read this book! I saw the movie years ago, which is probably why I never really got into the novel, but I really enjoyed it, and I can’t wait to read the rest of the series!

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz 5/5
This is probably one of the best books that I read this year. It was so beautifully written and the story and characters were amazing. I have nothing but good things to say about this one.

Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl 4/5 
I read this with a friend, and I really enjoyed it! It wasn’t quite to the calibre of Night Film, and it was a little hard to get into at first, but it was such an intriguing mystery and a really fun book.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkins 3/5
For all the hype around this series, I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I hoped I would. It was fine, but the romance was a bit flat and the characters were a bit dull, and I just wanted a lot more from it. I don’t think I’ll be continuing with this series.

Winter by Marissa Meyer 5/5 
This book was very long, but so worth it. The characters were amazing, and I loved how the whole story came together in the end. I’m really looking forward to checking out the novellas and short stories that go along with this series.

I also attempted Knots and Crosses by Ian Rankin, as a recommendation from a friend, but I gave up after about 60 pages. The mystery was intriguing, but the writing was so bland that I just couldn’t do it. The friend who recommended it has lent me a later book in the series, which he promises is much better, so keep an eye out for that next month.

I also started two other books this month, but wasn’t able to finish them before the month came to a close. All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr is absolutely beautiful so far, and I am loving it, though it is definitely not a book you can read quickly. I have also started To All The Boys I Loved Before by Jenny Han which is super cute, though I’m not too far into it yet. Keep an eye out for these reviews in July!

Books I Acquired in June

I told myself that I was going to refrain from buying books this month, but obvious that didn’t go as planned. Sometimes I wonder if it’s even worth bothering to say it.  At least many of these were second hand, which means I got them for pocket change, as the folks I live with keep giving me old books to trade in for credit at my favourite used bookstore.

New Books:
Winter by Marissa Meyer
Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

Second Hand Books:
The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkins
The Diviners by Libba Bray
I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak
The Last Dragonslayer by Jasper Fforde
The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan
The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan
The Battle of the Labrynth by Rick Riodan

Books From Publishers:
The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman (from Simon & Schuster Canada)

Electronic Copies:
Zenith by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings

Saturday Songs from June

Stop by Spice Girls
Wait For It from Hamilton
La Vie Boheme from Rent
The Pirate Song

Other Thoughts I Had in June

Top Ten Tuesday: 
Most Anticipated Released of the Second Half of 2016
Why I Love Young Adult Fiction
2016 Releases I Haven’t Read, But Want To
10 Things You Didn’t Know About Music Therapy

Why Do We Collect Books?
What I Hate About Young Adult Fiction
Totally Should Have Book Tag
The Light Between Oceans Read-Along: Pre-Thoughts

July Plans

Okay, I’m really bad at actually sticking to my plans, but it’s fun to make them anyway. My schedule eases up in July because of school-year programs finishing, so this might help me keep on track with my extra free time.

As you may know, because I’ve already done a post about it, I am participating in a Read Along of The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman, which is hosted by Simon & Schuster Canada. So I will be reading about half of this book in the month of July (if anyone wants to join in, there’s still time!).

As I’ve already started them, I will also continue to tackle All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr and To All The Boys I Loved Before by Jenny Han.

Books I Plan to Read (in addition to the above):
Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas
Zenith by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings
The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

So there we have it! One month all wrapped up into one post.

What are your plans for July? What was the best book you read this month? Let me know in the comments below!

13 thoughts on “June Wrap Up and July Plans

  1. So many good books! I loved Winter and I’ve heard so many good things about Aristotle and Dante discover the secrets of the universe I can’t wait to pick it up 🙂 I’ve heard some similar thoughts about the Mara Dyer series and it’s made me a bit reluctant to buy it maybe one day.

    Great wrap up and I hope you enjoy To All the Boys I’ve Loved before it’s one of my favorites!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

