Book Related

May Wrap-Up & June Plans

May has been quite the month on this end. There has been lots of craziness with work as the school year starts to wind down and program start finishing, as well as trying to get all of my summer programs scheduled. Real life has been busy with spending time with friends and family, and trying to take advantage of the lovely weather. And still trying to pack some books into that.

Without further ado, let’s get into this wrap up, shall we?

Books I Read In May

If all goes well with my current read, I will have made it through nine books this month! I was not expecting to get through all of these, but I was very pleased with it.

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch 4/5
This was a total cover buy for me, and had been sitting on my shelves for a while. I’m super pleased with how good it turned out to be though! A fun fantasy story that is one of the better I’ve read for a while.

Draw the Line by Laurent Linn 4.5/5
I received this book from Simon & Schuster Canada through Goodreads Giveaways. It was a great read dealing with homophobia and how we need to make changes ourselves, rather than waiting for someone else to do it. This was released on May 17th, and you should definitely check it out.

The Crown by Kiera Cass 4/5
This book was pure guilty pleasure, and was so much fun to read. It was a nice conclusion to Eadlyn’s story, and I was very pleased with who she ended up with. Now, I’ve got my fingers crossed that this will be the last book from The Selection series, because I think any more would ruin it.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins 4/5
I picked this one up because the movie looked interesting, and I was not disappointed. While it did seem a little longer than necessary, and the mystery wasn’t the most unique thing in the world, it was a fun and addictive read.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes 3/5
Even though I’m not typically big on romance stories, this book had a lot of positive reviews online, so I gave it a try. It was good, but not quite up to the hype I’ve seen. I may still watch the move though.

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson 3/5
I picked up this book because a few of my friends loved it. I enjoyed it, and I can see why it’s getting the hype it does, but I still found it boring through the first half. The ending is great, though.

Cress by Marissa Meyer 5/5
I’ve been slowly working my way through this series, and finally got to Cress this month. It was so good! I had a blast reading this one, and getting to know Cress and see what the others were up to.

Bird Box by Josh Malerman 5/5
This book was freaking amazing. I read it in two hours, because I couldn’t bring myself to actually put it down. It’s creepy and beautiful and desperate and so many other addictive things. Definitely recommend it.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Assuming I get through this one before the end of the month. We’ll see how that goes.

Books I Acquired in May

I really am trying to limit how many books I am buying, since my pile of unread books just keeps growing. But self control is a real issue, and I still ended up with some new books this month. It doesn’t help that my other half and his dad gave me a bunch of books to trade in for credit at the used book store.

I also finally caved and bought a proper bookshelf this month (rather than the end table ones I’d been using before), so I had to get a couple of books to fill it out a bit more.

New Books:
Aristotle, Dante, and the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz
I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson
Bird Box by Josh Malerman
A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Used Books:
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson
The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riodan

E-Books:
The Crown by Kiera Cass

Saturday Songs in May

Shatter Me by Lindsay Stirling ft. Lzzy Hale
Close by Nick Jonas ft. Tove Lo
T-Shirt by Thomas Rhett
Beautiful Drug by Zac Brown Band

Other Posts From May

Ten Characters I’d Love to Revisit as Adults
Around the World in 80 Books Tag
What I Do Online When Not Looking At Books
Books I Picked Up on a Whim
Thoughts on Book Blogging: The Two Month Mark

Plans for June

I really can’t believe it’s June already. How on Earth did that happen?

I’m hoping to knock a few more books off my TBR pile this month, but we’ll see how it goes, as I am easy distracted by other shiny books.

This month, I am hoping to tackle:
Zenith by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings
Winter by Marissa Meyer
Aristotle, Dante, and the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz
Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl

But we’ll see how that goes. June is already looking like a pretty crazy month for me, especially at work, so we’ll see what I actually manage to get through.

What are your plans for June?

7 thoughts on “May Wrap-Up & June Plans

  1. Great haul and amount of books read last month! I was hoping to start The Lunar Chronicles and Throne of Glass this month, but that kind of didn’t happen haha so hopefully this month! I also really want to read Bird Box and The Girl on the Train so it’s awesome to see you enjoyed those 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How are you finding Throne of Glass? Are you liking it?
    I was going to read The Girl on the Train last month, but I somehow forgot to. It doesn’t sound amazing though, so I’ll have to think about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m actually enjoying Throne of Glass more than I had anticipated. I hadn’t expected as much out of it, because hyped books never seem as good, but it’s really good so far.
      The Girl on the Train is good, but not the greatest thing I ever read. Worth a read, but maybe not something you have to have a high priority on?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

