Reviews

Cress by Marissa Meyer

In the third installment of the Lunar chronicles, Cress, having risked everything to warn Cinder of Queen Levana’s evil plan, has a slight problem. She’s been imprisoned on a satellite since childhood and has only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress a great hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress involving Cinder, Captain Thorne, Scarlet, and Wolf goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes as a high price. Meanwhile, Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.


Song For This Book: In Love With A Girl – Gavin DeGraw

5/5

Just as a heads up: this review will contain some spoilers from Cinder and Scarlet. It’s hard to review the third book in a series without giving away spoilers from earlier in the series. Especially when everything builds on what was previously done.

It took me a while to get to this book. I really enjoyed Scarlet, but with how it ended off, I just wasn’t in a rush to get to this one. But when I did get to it, I was definitely not disappointed. It was action packed, and fun, and though it seemed to take me forever to get through it (okay, a week), it was easy to motor through.

There are two tricky points when it comes to writing reviews for books that are later in the series. First, it’s obviously going to be a relatively positive review, just because you don’t stick with a series if you don’t enjoy it. This review is no exception. Second, as previously mentioned, it’s almost impossible to write anything about the book without also talking about major details in previous stories. But I’m going to try my best to give you a well-rounded review.

The Good Points of Cress:

Cress is such a sweet character! I’ve read a number of times in reviews that people find her irritating, but I didn’t find that at all. I thought her to be incredibly innocent, which really worked in her favour. And it definitely brings out the best in some of the other characters, bringing out some new and interesting traits in them.

On that same note, I really enjoyed Cress and Thorne’s relationship. It’s a little weird, and not necessarily the most beautiful thing I’ve ever read, but it was a nice change to the romance scene. It was one of those things were it shouldn’t have worked as well as it did, but Meyer somehow pulled it together beautifully.

The pacing throughout this book is better than I remember Cinder and Scarlet being. There were only one or two points in this book where it got a little dull for my taste, and it was never for more than a few pages at a time.

I really enjoyed how Cinder is discovering who she truly is, and how she wants to handle the whole thing. I won’t say too much about this, because spoilers, but I really enjoyed her struggles and discoveries and all of that.

There was so much action and chaos and insanity in this book, and it was so much fun to join all of these fun characters for the ride.

The Downsides of Cress:

I want more from Levana. She still feels so one-dimensional to me, just this terrible character who has no humanity (lumanity?). Maybe I just need to read Fairest, though.

The whole thing with Cress and Dr. Erland seemed a little out of left-field to me. It was a nice detail, but I didn’t quite see how it connected to everything else that was going on, and the story wouldn’t have been affected if it was left out.

I know these are loose retellings of the original fairy tales, but if not for the fact we are told it’s a retelling of Rapunzel, I probably wouldn’t have guessed. There are a few connections, sure, but where I could easily see it in Scarlet and Cinder, I was grasping at threads for this one.

All in all, I really enjoyed this book, and I can’t wait to get my hands on Winter. When I first heard of this series, I had only wanted to read Winter, as the others just didn’t particularly appeal to me, and that one looked awesome. But I’m really glad I decided to tackle the whole thing, because I’m having a blast with it so far.

Have you read Cress? Let me know what you thought in the comments below!

7 thoughts on “Cress by Marissa Meyer

  1. Great review! Cress as actually my favourite book from this series 🙂 like you, I really liked her innocence and thought she was such a sweet character. And I know exactly what you mean about the romance – it shouldn’t have worked, but it was so well done I ended up rooting for them massively. I agree that Levana comes across as rather one-dimensional up until this point, but you should definitely read Fairest – she became a very complex character in my mind after reading that book, and at points I even felt sorry for her in a twisted kind of way. Look forward to seeing what you think of it, and of Winter 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

