Book Related

Thoughts on Book Blogging: The Two Month Mark

It’s hard to believe that it’s been two months already.

I debated doing a post like this after the first month of book blogging, but I’m glad I put it off. The first month was interesting, but the second had far more different issues come up. I think I will have a lot more to say at this point than a month ago.

I started book blogging because I had five days off work, and I didn’t know what I was going to do with myself. I’d been looking at a lot of book blogs and watching a lot of booktube videos, and it seemed like something fun to play with.

I never expected it to go anywhere. It was just something fun to do. I’d attempted a few blogs before, on a variety of different topics, but never got far with them. I tended to give up after a few weeks, because it just didn’t interest me. But I was looking for something to do, and so I set it up, tossed up a few reviews I’d previously written for Goodreads.

It didn’t really take off at the start. A few people commented and liked, and I got a couple of follows. It was nice. I had fun checking out some other blogs, and enjoyed interacting with some other bloggers. The days off ended, and I figured I’d stick it out a few more days, and then it would be forgotten.

That didn’t happen. Two months later, I still pop by here every day. I don’t always have time to really get into it, but I try to make time when I can. I’m still making posts, commenting and visiting, and enjoying my time in the book blogging world.

There are lots of great things I have discovered throughout these past two months, as well as some downsides.

On the Plus Side:

I am reading more than I ever have. I read nine books last month, which is considerably more than I’ve done in any past month. I love reading, so pushing myself to do more is fantastic, because I’m finding more and more books to add to my list of favourites.

On that same note, there are so many books I would never have heard of, if not for the blogging and booktube world. When you rely on bestseller lists and what’s popular, you miss a lot of great stories. I’ve found so much more by looking around out here.

The book community is really wonderful. I don’t have the time with everything else in my life to be as engaged with it as I would really like to be, but the people I do get to interact with are fantastic, and I’m inspired by their words and their own blogs to do better with my own.

Reading books is wonderful. Having people to discuss them with is even better.

There are many other perks, like book draws, and ARCs (not quite at this point yet, but I assume it will be when I get there), and what have you, but the ones listed above are the reasons that I keep come back.

On the Downside:

It’s a huge time commitment. My job already keeps me incredibly busy, so I try to pick and choose my other commitments. It’s worth it, don’t get me wrong. But sometimes when I’ve worked a twelve hour day, and I still have a schedule of posts to keep up with, I wonder what I’ve gotten myself into.

As someone who thrives on competing with something else, sometimes it feels like I don’t keep up. I don’t always read the newest books as soon as they’re released, and I tend to follow my interest rather than what’s popular. 99% of the time, I don’t care, because I’m enjoying myself. The other 1%, it frustrates me.

Sometimes, I just don’t want to do it. This is a hobby for me – it has to be – so if I don’t want to, I generally just won’t do it. But it feels like a commitment I’ve made, and that I should honour that commitment, even when I’m preoccupied or interested in other hobbies or life stuff.

All in all, I think the pros far outweigh the cons. I’m generally having fun, and I’m not ready to give up just yet. It’s been an interesting adventure so far, especially since no one in my real life knows that this blog exists. I may tell them someday, or I may keep my little world to myself.

 

25 thoughts on “Thoughts on Book Blogging: The Two Month Mark

  1. I started reading more when I started my blog, too. I mean, I created a blog because I was seriously active on GR and posting tons of reviews, so I thought why not post them on a web platform, you know? Like to have something to myself. I used to not feel like blogging, but then I realized that you can literally discuss whatever you want and people will give you their points of views and I just love that. Anyway, congrats to you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re right, I admit that blogging is very time consuming and can be a somewhat stressful hobby for those that have anxiety. But thankfully there’s so many pros that outweigh the cons, as you mentioned, and make returning to the blogosphere really worthwhile. And commitment with continue to blog was my biggest concern when I first started to blog as well mainly because I, too, had created several blogs (that all ended up failing, haha) before Xingsings. So for me, it’s crazy to think I’ve been around long enough to say I’ve blogged for 17 months now though. Time sure flies!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! I’ve been blogging for about three months now and I definitely relate to a lot of the pros and cons you listed. I absolutely love the community because everyone I’ve met has been so wondderful and I’ve been having a ton of fun. I definitely feel the pressure when it comes to keeping up with new releases and everything because I am quite a slow reader and haven’t read a ton of the popular books. I definitely didn’t realise how much time goes into blogging either until I started. I’m glad that you’re enjoying it though and having fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats πŸ™‚ I totally get how you feel having just started my blog and all πŸ™‚ It is a commitment but Its so fun to share and interact with other bookworms πŸ™‚ I hate it when life disrupts the good stuff πŸ™‚ Nice post

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations! Of those who keep going (I’m not one of them) their common advice is to not pigeonhole yourself. If reviewing books gets dull give the people a little bit of something else. We’ll like it! Or at least I usually do

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I know exactly how you feel! My concern was turning one of my passions into a chore. That’s why I started reading what I would be interested in. I understand where you are coming from when it comes to competing, there are times where I feel my blog isn’t up to standards. But as long as, I’m reading what I enjoy and discuss with other book readers, you really can’t go wrong πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Wow, you’ve accomplished so much with your blog already. Happy 2-month anniversary. I agree with everything you said about the experience of book blogging. With a full-time job it is hard to keep up with blogging in a manner that seems “enough.” Being part of the book blogging community has gotten me reading a lot more too. Like you, I’m up to around 10 books a month. I look forward to seeing you around!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m glad that you’re having fun book blogging! I know what you mean about feeling the need to keep up with the most recent releases – I’m really busy as a student, so it can be hard to find the time to read the most recent releases, even if they’re for books I’ve been really excited about. There’s a part of me that always feels like I’m missing the rush when I see reviews for books that have recently come out, that I know I won’t be able to get to for a while.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! I feel like I have to plan in advance if I want to read new releases when they come out, and being on a schedule doesn’t always appeal to me. Not to mention, who can afford every new, interesting book that comes out. I guess we get to be the ones who keep interest in books lasting longer than a couple months, then?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

