Book Related

Books I Picked Up on a Whim

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun meme hosted over onย The Broke and The Bookish.

I try really hard to not just pick up books without looking into them first. If I’m not sure about a book, I prefer to borrow it and see if I like it before I actually spend money on it. However, impulse book buying is a thing, and I am not immune.

So without further ado, here are some books I picked up on a whim, and what drew me to them.

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
Not gonna lie, I was enticed by the lovely cover that comes with the paperback. Plus I’d heard a lot of good things from friends and the internet about this book. It’s my current read, and at the half way point, I’m still not sure this was the best impulse buy. Not totally sold yet.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz
Total cover buy. Plus good things heard about it. But mostly a cover buy.

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raash
I have a thing for pretty covers, apparently, because this was yet another book I picked up because of its cover. I ended up really enjoying this one, though.

The Night Circus by Erin Morganstern
I came across a used copy of this one, and bought it solely because I’d heard so many good things about it. It turned out to be awesome, though.

The Martian by Andy Weir
This book found its way to my shelves because a friend had two copies and gave me one. I’d always assumed that it was going to be either very boring or way too scientific for me. But it was one of the better books I’ve read this year, so I’m very glad I decided to pick it up (and glad my friend pushed me to read it so much).

Throne of Glass by Sara J. Maas
Sometimes it feels like I’m the only person who hasn’t yet read this one. I picked it up because it’s so well loved in the online book world, but still haven’t cracked it open. I need to get to it.

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
I didn’t even know what this was about when I bought an electronic copy of this one. I just wanted a good, summer-y read, and the cover gave that impression. It turned out to be good, though, so it’s all good.

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
I actually had no intention of reading this one when I picked it up. I was at my other half’s place, waiting out a snow storm, and bored out of my mind. So I randomly choose this one off his book shelf, and fell in love with it.

 

16 thoughts on “Books I Picked Up on a Whim

  1. Nice list, Hilary! ^.^ I love that you do more research before you pick up a book usually. I’m the totally opposite I tend to buy most books if I’ve seen it floating in the blogosphere but I usually check the overall rating on Goodreads. I’m also really bad because I often do not read the synopses (just because they sometimes give too much away). But these look like really great purchases! 9/10 of the titles are in my TBR pile and I’ve heard fantastic things overall.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m just now starting to pick up books I’ve seen positively reviewed around the blog/booktube world, without researching them first. It’s gone well so far, but it’s not a habit I want to get into. I’m hoping to keep it only to one used book store, because at least they’ll take them back for credit if they suck.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Usually my whims land me with stuff like I feel like I ‘should’ read. Zzz who has time for the complete works of all the big old names! Apparently past-self thinks so in periods of weakness and so, naturally, the lame books advance at the expense of the ones I want to read. I’m glad you seemed to have escaped!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have definitely been there – my roommate through university was an English major and liked the classics, and wanted me to read them as well. I sometimes will bend to the pressure of reading something considered classic, but I don’t force myself to read them anymore ๐Ÿ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So many of these are on my TBR! I started reading The Martian, but then life got in the way so I had to put it on hold. I really need to finish it though because I was really enjoying it. I haven’t read Throne of Glass yet either! It’s on my TBR, but I just haven’t gotten to it because I’m worried I’m not going to like it haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You should definitely get back to The Martian. It’s so good!
      That is one of the reasons that I haven’t picked it up yet, I think. I got caught up in the hype of the Mortal Instruments, and didn’t like it, and I’m a little worried of doing the same with Throne of Glass.

      Like

  4. I have The Martian on my TTT as well! Although I got it because the movie was coming out and had to read it before seeing it. I loved Snow Like Ashes it definitely has a gorgeous cover and the inside was just as good. also thank goodness I’m not the only one who has yet to read Throne of Glass! That series is loved and hyped up like crazy! Great list! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You should definitely read the Martian! It was so good! I can’t say anything about the movie, as I haven’t seen it yet.
      I’m so glad to hear I’m not the only one who hasn’t read Throne of Glass! It’s a relief, after hearing everyone talk about it and obsess about it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have read it and it definitely was amazing and the movie actually follows the book pretty closely!
        Throne of Glass is sooooo hyped like crazy so us people who haven’t read it yet need to band together haha ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

