Book Related

Around the World in 80 Books Tag

Okay, maybe not 80, because it would take me forever to write this. But I couldn’t resist making the reference.

This tag was created by Becca @ Becca And Books, and I was tagged by Reg @ She Latitude. This is the first time I’ve been tagged in one of these things, so I’m super stoked that it was such a neat one.

The rules for this fun, little tag are pretty simple: Choose a few countries, and name your favourite book that takes place there.

I am not a traveler by any means. I’ve left Canada a whole one time (though Canada is pretty big and I’ve been a fair few places within), and I am not particularly keen on leaving any time soon. My travel preferences involve being back in my own bed by the end of the day. But books give you the chance to explore new places from the comfort of your own home, which is great for homebodies like myself.

So, without further ado, here are some of my favourite books for when I’m in a travelling-from-home mood!

France

 9754815

Anna and the French Kiss made me want to visit France, because it just sounded like so much fun! If I ever do make my way over there, I feel the need to go see every site mentioned in this book.

Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her coworker at the movie theater, who is just starting to return her affection. So she’s not too pleased when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year. But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new friends, including the handsome Étienne St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he’s taken–and Anna might be too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French kiss she’s been waiting for?

Germany

1118668

We’re just going to completely ignore the fact that this is historical version of Germany I wouldn’t be particularly keen on visiting. It was an interesting view of Germany though, and I did like the scenery.

By her brother’s graveside, Liesel’s life is changed when she picks up a single object, partially hidden in the snow. It is The Gravedigger’s Handbook, left behind there by accident, and it is her first act of book thievery. So begins a love affair with books and words, as Liesel, with the help of her accordian-playing foster father, learns to read. Soon she is stealing books from Nazi book-burnings, the mayor’s wife’s library, wherever there are books to be found. But these are dangerous times. When Liesel’s foster family hides a Jew in their basement, Liesel’s world is both opened up, and closed down.

United States of America

4407

This was a hard one to decide on, because I’ve read a lot of books set in the USA. So I chose the one that had my favourite take on landmarks and went a little more off the beaten path.

Days before his release from prison, Shadow’s wife, Laura, dies in a mysterious car crash. Numbly, he makes his way back home. On the plane, he encounters the enigmatic Mr Wednesday, who claims to be a refugee from a distant war, a former god and the king of America. Together they embark on a profoundly strange journey across the heart of the USA, whilst all around them a storm of preternatural and epic proportions threatens to break.

Scotland

721931

I supposed I could have put this one under England as well, but since most of the book is spent at Hogwarts, which is technically in Scotland, I went with that (plus, it frees up England later).

Harry Potter has no idea how famous he is. That’s because he’s being raised by his miserable aunt and uncle who are terrified Harry will learn that he’s really a wizard, just as his parents were. But everything changes when Harry is summoned to attend an infamous school for wizards, and he begins to discover some clues about his illustrious birthright. From the surprising way he is greeted by a lovable giant, to the unique curriculum and colourful faculty at his unusual school, Harry finds himself drawn deep inside a mystical world he never knew existed and closer to his own noble destiny.

China

11235712

Futuristic versions of countries count as well, right? For the purposes of this, I’m going to say yes. One thing I really enjoyed about this book was actually how certain elements of Chinese culture remained, despite all the other influences that could have taken over.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

England

40440

England is such a fun setting for mysteries and strange stories. I don’t know why. This is a fun depiction of England, though.

Late one night while pondering whether to accept the task of recording Miss Winter’s personal story, Margaret begins to read her father’s rare copy of Miss Winter’s Thirteen Tales of Change and Desperation. She is spellbound by the stories and confused when she realizes the book only contains twelve stories. Where is the thirteenth tale? Intrigued, Margaret agrees to meet Miss Winter and act as her biographer.

As Vida Winter unfolds her story, she shares with Margaret the dark family secrets that she has long kept hidden as she remembers her days at Angelfield, the now burnt-out estate that was her childhood home. Margaret carefully records Miss Winter’s account and finds herself more and more deeply immersed in the strange and troubling story.

What I’ve gotten from this whole thing is that I don’t have a lot of variety in my settings for books. It seems like most things I read are set in the USA or in England. I suppose I shall have to work on that.

I’m going to take the following people to give this one a shot:
Chelsea @ Warlock’s Gray Books
Jorelene @ Page Chronicles
Astra @ A Stranger’s Guide to Novels
And anyone else who feels like tackling this one.

11 thoughts on “Around the World in 80 Books Tag

  1. “My travel preferences involve being back in my own bed by the end of the day.”

    YES. *Homebody high five.*

    Several of these books are on my to-read list. Good to hear that you recommend them! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Like you, I’m not huge on traveling, which is why I love getting immersed in books so that they can bring me around the world.

    I actually haven’t read The Book Thief or Cinder yet – I’m planning on reading both soon! I’ve heard fantastic things about each of them, so I can’t wait to start them.

    Thank you so much for the tag, Hilary! I’m excited to do to this! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for doing the tag, and I’m glad to hear that it was fun for you!

    I STILL haven’t read The Book Thief yet after all this time – it’s just one of those books that really intimidate me because it’s so revered in the community and no one ever seems to, well, dislike it.

    I really should pick up Cinder too – feels like the series get better with each book. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for tagging me! 🙂
      I’m actually surprised more people don’t like the Book Thief. It struck me as one of those that wouldn’t go over as well as it did. But I definitely think you should try it! Cinder is good too, though I wouldn’t say it’s as good as the Book Thief. 😉

      Like

      1. I haven’t read it yet so I can’t comment on it, but literally everyone I know who’s read it loved it, I’m not sure why. I hear it’s really touching and sad, though, and I’m not in the mood for any emotional upheaval at the moment! D:

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

