Reviews

The Crown by Kiera Cass

When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.


Song For This Book: Love Story by Taylor Swift

4/5

I told myself that if this book didn’t have the ending I wanted, I was going to give it no more than two stars out of protest. And for a good chunk of the book, I was sure that was going to be the case. But obviously things worked out the way I wanted it to, made clear by my rating for this one.

I was a bit unsure going into this book, because the fourth book had been so different from the first three, and reviews were mixed, and I wasn’t sure how it was going to go. As the last book in the series, it seemed that it could go either way, especially with how the fourth ended. But it was actually a pleasant surprise, and made up for some of the short comings that The Heir might have had. It had the same sort of style that we saw in The One, including all the reader frustration as Eadlyn finally figures everything out. It was a good ending to The Selection books, and I’m really hoping that Kiera Cass leaves it there and doesn’t add more to the series in future.

The Good Points of The Crown:

We get a whole lot of development for Eadlyn. She’s almost unrecognizable from the person she was at the start of The Heir, in a good way. There were times that the chances did seem a little abrupt, but it works. Nothing happens without the reader being able to see where the changes in her stem from, which I really enjoyed.

As with The Heir, I love the focus on Eadlyn’s work, and her attitude towards it. We don’t often get a heroine who is primarily focused on her work, and I loved Eadlyn for that. Her thoughts are, first and foremost, on her country and her work, and what is going to be best for that. It’s a nice change from our typical romantic heroine.

There are some semi-sensitive issues addressed in this book (I won’t go into detail because they’re spoilers, and I don’t want to ruin the book for anyone) that are handled very well. Reactions are done appropriately, Eadlyn’s actions were very honourable, and the attitude towards them made me smile.

As always, the book was a fun, easy read that took almost no effort to get through. I don’t know too many authors who can get me as frustrated as Kiera Cass can when it comes to character choices.

Eadlyn ended up with exactly who I wanted her to! But maybe that’s only a good point for me.

The Downsides of The Crown:

There were a few details, such as Lady Brice, that seemed to come out of left field and have little to do with the story as a general. They were interesting and fun details, but they just seemed to come out of nowhere and have no effect on the story overall.

It did feel a bit rushed. I would rather a book be rushed than be dreadfully slow, but it would have been nice to spend a bit more time with Eadlyn and her selected. After two books, I feel like I barely know any of them, including the Elite.

All in all, a good book to finish the series. I really enjoyed it, and I was glad to have been able to spend more time in this particular world. And it’s hard to complain too much about any book when you get the ending you were waiting for all along.

I wish now that Kiera Cass would go back and write a book about how Maxon and America dissolved the caste systems, or more about Maxon’s parents, or anything that would give us a bit more insight into their world. I feel like the books focused so much on the romances that we didn’t get a lot of how the world worked and how it became the way it was. I would be really interested in reading something like that.

What did you think of The Crown? Happy with the ending?

4 thoughts on “The Crown by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

