Reviews

Draw the Line by Laurent Linn

Adrian Piper is used to blending into the background at his Texas high school. He may be a talented artist, a sci-fi geek, and gay, but those traits only bring him the worst kind of attention.

In fact, the only place he feels free to express himself is at his drawing table, crafting a secret world through his own Renaissance art-inspired superhero, Graphite.

But in real life, when a shocking hate crime flips his world upside-down, Adrian must decide what kind of person he wants to be. Maybe it’s time to not be so invisible after all—no matter how dangerous the risk.


Song For This Book: Star Wars Theme – John Williams

4.5/5

I received an ARC of this book from Simon & Schuster Canada through Goodreads Giveaways.

This novel was a bit out of left field, compared to what I usually read. I rarely have any interest in comics, I haven’t read a lot of LGBT fiction, and  underdogs tend to drive me up the wall. But I saw the giveaway for this one, and I figured I would give it a shot. The write-up was intriguing, and at least I could say that I gave it a try.

And I am so glad I did. This book turned out to be much better than I would have anticipated. I got sucked in within the first couple of chapters, and had no trouble sticking with it through to the end. There were even points where I struggled to put it down so I could go back to work.

The Good Points of Draw The Line:

The writing is fantastic, and Adrian’s voice is easy to get into. It’s easy to read, and it’s easy to relate to Adrian’s voice and way of thinking.

The characters are just amazing. They’re well developed from the start, and it’s great to see how they grow as the story progresses. None of them are perfect, and they all have flaws that drive the story forward. Characters can always make or break a story, and they definitely made this one. I particularly adored Doug’s character.

This book revolves around a rather sensitive topic, and it handles it really well. It doesn’t turn it into a joke or make it seem childish. It approaches it in a fresh way, and makes it seem very real.

All of the artwork in the book really added to the story. It’s one thing to read about Graphite and the drawing, but it’s completely different to actually see it. The comics added so much to the story.

The Downsides of Draw The Line:

There was a point about a third of the way through the book that it just got kind of boring. Not to the point of wanting to stop reading, but it happened. It just seemed to drag a bit between one event and another, and seemed like there were a few unnecessary scenes.

There were a few times that it just seemed a little childish. I know they’re in high school and people can be childish in high school, but it just seemed a little out of place in the times it did happen.

This book made me realize how lucky I’ve been when it comes to how accepting people are of differences. I thought people where I’m from were homophobic, but it turns out that they’re not really that bad. I can’t believe that stuff like this is still happening in this day and age.

All in all, this was a great book, and I highly recommend it. It hits the shelves on May 17th, and you should definitely give it a try and let me know what you think!

5 thoughts on “Draw the Line by Laurent Linn

      1. I hope you like it as much (or more) the second time around! And thanks for the info. I’m a Texan, and always excited to see exactly where Texas-set books are based. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

