Book Related

Ten Characters I’d Love to Revisit as Adults

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun meme hosted over on The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is 10 characters or books you would like to revisit as an adult. There were a few ways to take this one, but I opted for a version of this list where I focused on characters I met in books that I would like to check back in with as adults, or just later in their lives. Some books give you this, with epilogues or add-on series or spin offs. But a lot don’t, and I am curious about some of them.

Without further ado, here are ten characters I would love to revisit later in life.

1. Ramona from Ramona and Beezus
I can’t be the only one curious about what sort of person Ramona grew up to be. She was such a spunky child, and it makes me curious about who she is as a teen or as an adult.

2. Harry from Harry Potter
Okay, cheating a little on this one, because with the new book/script coming out this summer, we might actually get to see what Harry turned out to by like as an adult. Seriously, though. When you’re the Boy Who Lived, how do you become a good parent?

3. Liesel from The Book Thief
I just really want to know how she turned out when she grew up.There needs to be a novella or a short story written about her to give us an idea.

4. Lia from Winter Girls
Really, all I want to know is that she turned out okay.

5. Alba from The Time Traveler’s Wife
Just curious to see how her life turned out, what with being able to control her travelling and what sort of strides she made for people like her. I feel like she could be her own book.

6. Jonas from The Giver
I debated adding this one to the list, because part of me also doesn’t want to know what happened after the end of the Giver. But I also really want to know what happened to Jonas and the baby and how what they did changed their world.

7. Clay from Thirteen Reasons Why
I’m just curious as to how things turned out from him, and how what happened affected his life. I feel like that is something that would change your life significantly, and I’m curious to see how that manifested in him.

8. The Kid From The Road
Seriously. What happened to that kid? Why weren’t we told what happened?

9. Amelia from Handle with Care
I would be really curious to see what happened with Amelia. She had the short end of the stick for a long time – no one’s fault, just circumstances, and it all ended poorly for her. I’d like to see how she turned out as an adult.

10. Sydney from Saint Anything
Just out of curiosity of whether things actually stay better for her, or if it goes down the tube again. I hold out a bit of hope for this one, because Sarah Dessen tends to pop old characters into later books.

One thought on “Ten Characters I’d Love to Revisit as Adults

Leave a Reply

