Book Related

April Wrap-Up

Did anyone else find that April went by a little too quick for their liking?

April was a pretty good month on my end. I was able to get through a fair few books, acquired probably way more than I should have, went out with a friend with the intent of buying books, and didn’t fall behind on any of the non-book related things in my life.

Let’s get into this, shall we?

Books I Read in April

Two If By Sea by Jacquelyn Mitchard 3/5
This book was good, I just think it will be better in ten years. A lot of the things the characters dealt with were way beyond my understanding of life. It had a lot of great elements, though, and I did enjoy it.

Exit, Pursued By A Bear by E.K. Johnston 4/5
This book was good, but I wanted so much more from it. It was a great story, but not a particularly realistic portrayal of what the rape of a teenager looks like. I really enjoyed it, but it did seem like a bit of a missed opportunity.

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins 5/5
This was such a fun story! Greatest thing ever written? No. A fantastic book to take to the beach, or if you’re just looking for a fun, light read? Definitely. I had a blast with this one.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern 5/5
I loved this book! The atmosphere, the characters, the plot lines, and everything else about it was just so perfect! I can’t wait to reread this book.

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson 4/5
When the weather started to get really warm, this was my summery book. It was so much fun! The perfect summer/beach/warm weather book, if you are still looking for one.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness 5/5
This is one of those books you come across now and then that really sticks in your head. It’s such a beautiful story, and a lovely way to handle a delicate, but all to common, situation.

First Kiss (Ghost Bird #10) by C.L. Stone 4.5/5
I love this series, despite many short comings, and the fact that whenever I try to describe it, it sounds kind of lame. The characters are so well developed, and we got to see so much about the Academy and all of it’s rules and secrets in this one. I just wish the editing was better.

On this list, I am also including City of Bones by Cassandra Claire, despite the fact that I didn’t actually finish it. I just didn’t want to make an entirely different category, because laziness. I just couldn’t get into this one. I won’t say too much, as you can just click that link and see my reasons why.

Saturday Songs

I started this new little thing this month, where I share a song with you every Saturday. It’s been fun, because I love music, and I love sharing it even more.

Don’t Read The Classics
Leave A Trace

Since that’s only a couple of songs, you should totally check out the following artists if you get the chance:
Lindsay Stirling (violin dubstep. Seriously)
Chvrches
Bastille

Books I Acquired in April

I promised myself I wasn’t going to go and buy a bunch of books this month, and I totally failed on that front. I knew I would buy a few, because a friend and I went out on a bookshop tour, but I bought a number of others as well. It’s just so hard to resist!

Two If By Sea by Jacqueline Mitchard
It doesn’t count if I didn’t actually buy it right? I got this one through a giveaway from Goodreads and Simon & Schuster Canada.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
This one was actually a surprise from my other half. He had heard me talking about the movie, and he said he wasn’t going to go see it with me. I guess the book was to make up for that?

Cress by Marissa Meyer
Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl
Night Circus by Erin Morganstern
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
Red Rising by Pierce Brown
These are all together, because they were all bought together on a bookstore adventure that my friend and I had. I was pleased with this haul.

Rebus: The Early Years by Ian Rankin
My friend is so sure that I am going to love this series that he bought this one for me.

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner
Another one I didn’t buy myself. I won this one from Maria @ Big City Bookworm!

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
I picked this one up because it just looked so good! I was flipping through it at the bookstore, and I couldn’t leave without it. I think it was a good choice.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer
I originally read this on my Kobo, so I didn’t get a copy of this until I owned Scarlet and Cress. I felt like I needed it to make my shelves look better, and because the series is great.

Plus a couple of electronic version of books, but I never feel like I should count them, because they don’t actually take up space on my shelf.

May Plans

I don’t have anything really set in stone for May, because I find it hard to stick to such things. I love reading, and I don’t want it to become a chore. There are a couple of things I’m looking forward to reading this month, though.

The Crown by Kiera Cass
I wasn’t super sold on the last book, but I enjoyed the first three, and am curious to see how it ends.

Draw the Line by Laurent Linn
I won a copy of this book through Goodreads and Simon and Schuster Canada, and am looking forward to checking it out. It looks really interesting.


If you’ve got any suggestions of things I should read/check out/listen to this month, you should let me know in the comments below.

What are your reading plans for May? How was your April?

 

3 thoughts on “April Wrap-Up

  1. I actually thought April went super slow hahaha!
    At least you had a great reading month, it seems that most of your reads were 4 and five stars! I’m reading City of Bones on and off and I just don’t feel like reading it because it’s so big!
    My April was alright, could of been better but not a disaster. Nothing planned for April at the moment 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

