Book Related

5 Books That Made Me Laugh

Top Ten Tuesdays is a fun meme that is hosted over on The Broke and the Bookish. I’ve seen these around since I came across book blogs, and I figured that I should get in on this!

This week’s topic is:

*insert drumroll here*

Books that will make you laugh!

This one is actually pretty tricky, just because of how subjective humour can be. So at some points of this post, you might be thinking, ‘But Hilary, those books are supposed to be serious!’ To which my response, ‘Well, they made me laugh!’ I tend to lean more towards serious books than funny ones, so the things I do find amusing tend to be a little weird.

Without further ado, here are some books that made me laugh:

Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James
I am well aware that this was supposed to be a serious book. But honestly, it was just so bad that I laughed the whole way through it. I read it while in university, and my roommates and I spent many a night laughing about this one.

Alice in Tumblr-land by Tim Manley
I bought this book for my sister last Christmas, but couldn’t resist flipping through it before sending it out to her. It’s a collection of fun, short stories based on your favourite fairy tales that are suited towards todays fascination with social media.

Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare
Romeo is such a sappy jerk. I honestly think I laughed at this book only because it was the only thing that made a month of studying it in school bearable.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Harry was angry for the entire book. It was fantastic.

Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Bloom
Fudge and Peter are both such amusing characters and get up to the best shenanigans. One of my favourite reads if I want something to put me in a good mood.

I couldn’t quite come up with ten, but I got halfway. Based on this, I am thinking I need to look up some more funny books.

 

2 thoughts on “5 Books That Made Me Laugh

Leave a Reply

